NO DISPLAY WITH PCI'S inserted - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-17-2005, 04:05 PM   #31 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 51
Default

dell demension 21000 ...
__________________

pizzanchy is offline  
Old 03-17-2005, 04:07 PM   #32 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Going back to square one...

Wait wait wait...you said if you remove the cards, you get a display?

Uh...When you have the cards in, do you have the monitor cord actually plugged into the video cards, or is it still in the mobo?

LOL LOL
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 03-17-2005, 04:23 PM   #33 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 51
Default

look man.. i really need some help!
this is really weird....

plz somoene solve this great mystery
pizzanchy is offline  
Old 03-17-2005, 04:26 PM   #34 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

Maybe the BIOS somehow thinks that a PCI video card is inserted. Is that an option in the BIOS? If so, try disabling it.
__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 03-17-2005, 04:43 PM   #35 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 51
Default

i've also done that.. i've checked everything int he BIOS.
i also set it to defaults and i still cant get display!
pizzanchy is offline  
Old 03-17-2005, 04:53 PM   #36 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Go back to the beginning.

Make sure you've done the following:

1. Your motherboard can handle SLI, it has updated drivers, and the BIOS is setup to accept SLI.

2. You have verified that both video cards to be used function by inserting one at a time and making sure they can operate alone.

3. You've installed both cards, and properly installed the SLI link adapter to bridge the two cards.

4. Both cards are exactly identical, from the same manufacturer, and are clearly stated to work in an SLI setup.

5. You have properly connected the video cable to the correct card, in the correct adapter.

6. You are not trying to use an S-Video adapter on bootup.

7. You are using the same cable connection type as when you do not have the SLI setup in place (VGA vs DVI).

If that doesn't work, consider that your motherboard may be fkd.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 03-17-2005, 05:15 PM   #37 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 51
Default

ok first of all the two cards are not video cards...

one is a modem, and another is an audio card...

things.. they'll need both....

so im still lost
pizzanchy is offline  
Old 03-17-2005, 10:52 PM   #38 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

My bad...I'm sorry, I got caught up in the SLI...

Anyway, make sure both PCI cards work by themselves, first. Try putting them in different slots. Try cards you already know that work in those slots and see what happens.

Don't try to install them both at once. Do one first, get it stable and updated, then install the other. Installing two cards at once is generally a bad idea.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 03-18-2005, 01:21 AM   #39 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 51
Default

i dont know if the cards work.... but if they dont work why would it interfere with the display ??? that jsut doesnt make any sense!!
but i'll double check if the cards work or not
pizzanchy is offline  
Old 03-18-2005, 10:21 AM   #40 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

It makes a lot of sense, pizzanchy...

If one or both of the cards is toasted, it could very easily mess up the whole motherboard, shorting it out, making it malfunction, or even toasting the motherboard.

These aren't Legos, man. If something's not right with the card, or the port it's plugged into, you could have everything from funny functionality, beeps, to total system destruction.
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.