New Upgrade (Board & CPU) Everything Plugged In But One Problem. Please Help! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-09-2004, 03:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 76
Send a message via AIM to DavidWatersUGP
Question New Upgrade (Board & CPU) Everything Plugged In But One Problem. Please Help!

Hey Everyone,

To start off, I’ve already have built computers before so I’m know what I’m doing, so all of this is nothing new to me. However, I have finally upgraded, I have a 3.2Ghz Pentium 4 HT Chip with a ECS Elitegroup 848P-A motherboard.

I’ve put everything together, however, I run into one problem and it’s starting to frustrate me and I have no idea at all now. I’ve followed the directions in the motherboard book several times but I don’t think that’s the problem. When I turn it on, no display comes up, and it’s starts beeping. I know this usually means I’m missing something, like no RAM or something, but I double checked everything. Even made sure the chip was inserted correctly and it was.

The beep is different from one’s I have heard before. It lasts for an entire 6 or 7 seconds (I counted), then stops, and starts again. I’ve tried re-connecting everything, trying a different video card, moving the RAM into a different slot, etc, and I still run into the same problem.

Does anyone know what this beep pattern means so I we can get a better understanding of the problem and see If I’m able to fix it, whatever it is lol.

The motherboard book does not come with any type of troubleshooting, already looked.

Thanks Everyone, can’t wait to get my new fast computer working! I’ve been stuck on a 1.4ghz AMD for quite some time. If you need any other information, feel free to request it.

Thanks for your help,
David Waters
__________________

DavidWatersUGP is offline  
Old 10-09-2004, 03:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 393
Default

find out what bios and version u have then go onto the internet and find the particular bios u have and look up the beep error codes and see which one u have.. personally id help u out and look at it myself but im kinda stuck in the middle of my own predicament (is that how u spell that? lol)
__________________

__________________
\"It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.\"
-Aristotle
_SiLv3R_ is offline  
Old 10-09-2004, 03:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

run the pc as a barebones. only mobo, cpu, vid card, and ram. c it itl start.
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 10-09-2004, 03:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 422
Default

When I Built my last computer (in my profile) I had that same problem and the beeps were indicating bad ram

I check everything on it. I would put the pieces on one of my other Computer and Everything would work fine

that left one piece. the MoBO (Msi K7n2 Delta Motherboard)

I took it back. exchanged it. Everything worked after that
vance43211 is offline  
Old 10-09-2004, 03:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 76
Send a message via AIM to DavidWatersUGP
Default

Yeah...I was just in another forum and they mentioned that I may have the wrong brand of memory or something...guess it does not like the type of DDR Ram that I have. I just tested it with 2 other brands from my friends DDR Ram and it still does the same...strange. I doubt all 3 brands would not be reconized by the board...atleast one or something. Should I go onto the motherboard companies website and get a list, if they have one?
DavidWatersUGP is offline  
Old 10-09-2004, 03:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 76
Send a message via AIM to DavidWatersUGP
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by U-Toast
run the pc as a barebones. only mobo, cpu, vid card, and ram. c it itl start.
That's what I have been doing now.

As a side note...the motherboard book says it only supports newer AGP cards. I have an old GeForce 2 AGP cad I would like to use and have been using to test with, but the power light shows up which is good but the fan on it does not spin and I think there is another red light which means error. But I've also tested it with another video card I have, PCI ATI Radeon 7000 32MB and I still get the same beeping.

Thanks for your help everyone so far. I hope I can get this working soon
DavidWatersUGP is offline  
Old 10-09-2004, 03:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

try to place out the items u know are good. try putting them in an other pc, and c if itl run, then u can put that one aside, then ul end up with 1 last peace, u might hafta return it.

edit: i just tought of incompatability issues also, try to find out if there are any, go to ur components websites
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 10-09-2004, 03:54 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 76
Send a message via AIM to DavidWatersUGP
Default

http://www.ecs.com.tw/

Is the website...but I cant find any info on the board. Can anyone else find it? (ECS Elitegroup 848-A)

I bought this at Fry's as a motherboard and cpu combo, so it should work.

I'm guessing the problem is RAM too... but I've tried 3 brands already...
DavidWatersUGP is offline  
Old 10-09-2004, 03:57 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

hmm wierd, u prolly have something defective.
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 10-09-2004, 04:00 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 76
Send a message via AIM to DavidWatersUGP
Default

Update! http://www.ecsusa.com/products/848p-a.html

Found the USA website lol. Click the link above...thats my motherboard.
__________________

DavidWatersUGP is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.