New p4 cpu and intel mobo - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-07-2004, 07:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 5
Default New p4 cpu and intel mobo

I installed everything correctly with my new hardware, but was unsure i had put the cpu in correctly as i had not done this before. When i attempted to remove the cpu again i had some trouble getting the lock off, and had to jiggle a bit. I believe this caused some of the pins on my cpu to become bent.

I used a small tool to straighten the pins back out, and when i re-seated the cpu it slid in easily in the slot. I reconnected everything etc, and when i turn on the PC i can see it checks all the CD ROMS and the harddrive. The cpu fan and power supply fan is working. How can i tell if i broke the CPU? i get no output to my monitor.

Basically my question is, how voulnerable is the cpu? How hard do i have to press it into place etc? Please help, I'm afraid i just wasted 250 bucks!!

cpu: intel P4 3.0GHz, Boxed, PC800 socket pga478, 512 kb
Mobo: intel d865PERL P4, socket 478, ATX, APG8x, FSB800
old hardrive, dunno specs.
350W power supply

Plebz is offline  
Old 04-07-2004, 08:00 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 16

Basically computer components is not so gentle and i don't believe that you broke yor CPU. I recommend you that you take your CPU and try it on other system with similir specs like your and you will know if broke it. Anyway Intel is giving a life time warranty on her processors, think about it.

Wishmaster is offline  
Old 04-07-2004, 08:25 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 5

If the cpu isn't busted, what else could be the error? i know the video card and the hard drive works in my other cabinet and mobo.
Plebz is offline  
Old 04-07-2004, 08:42 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
HoLoCroN's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Plant City, FL
Posts: 1,305

Make sure your memory is in bank 0.
HoLoCroN is offline  
Old 04-07-2004, 10:18 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 5

I've looked over it again and I'm sure i put the RAM in DIMM 0 channel A. I've been told i MUST have a 512MB DDR 400 SDRAM kit (2x 256 chips) to make this work by a friend, but my vendor told me that wasn't neccesary. Can anyone confirm this? Been readin on intel's homepage as well and it didn't really clearly say weather or not this was neccesary.
Plebz is offline  
Old 04-07-2004, 10:29 AM   #6 (permalink)
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 451

Did you order the mobo or purchase it from some computer shop?

If you ordered it, getting a refund will be hard.

If you didn't, take it back, get a refund, try it again, and if that doesnt work then you aren't doing something correctly....

As for the RAM thing, I dont believe that you have to have that 512MB DDR 400 SDRAM Kit, but then again I'm not positive, so you may have to check on that also.

Good luck getting your PC to work correctly!

Chubz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:52 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.