New Harddrive, Should I Do Quick Or Full Format? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-10-2004, 12:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 69
Send a message via AIM to provoko
Default New Harddrive, Should I Do Quick Or Full Format?

I'm about to get a new hard drive and I'm wondering what should I do when installing windows xp, a full or quick format?

I've been researching it and it looks like 'full' writes zero's everywhere and error checks, but I'm thinking why would I want to do that if it's completely new? So I'm gonna go witht he quick, good idea? Yes, no, and why. Hehe.

Thanks.
__________________

provoko is offline  
Old 08-10-2004, 12:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

Do a full format through DOS.
__________________

ag3 is offline  
Old 08-10-2004, 12:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

Considering the HDD is new, the formatting will be done quick.
ag3 is offline  
Old 08-10-2004, 04:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506
Default

By doing the full format versus the quick one, you will also check all memory location on your HDD. It takes a little longer but I always do a full format the first time around.
__________________
My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
Intel D865PERL MOBO
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
ATI RADEON 9800 PRO
zerozero is offline  
Old 10-03-2004, 03:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

full (long) format also checks ur disk for errors
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-03-2004, 03:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 887
Default

nobody is going to tell u to do the quick. do tha full.
xotix is offline  
Old 10-03-2004, 09:32 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I personally prefer the quick format, it takes less than 30 seconds even on a 160GB or 200GB drive, and you don't notice a difference in HDD performance when it is finished
although that's just my opinion
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-03-2004, 09:44 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

FULL FORMAT

DEFINATELY, else it wont work
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 10-03-2004, 10:33 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 136
Default

Of course it will work. It doesn’t matter weather you format it with a full format or a quick format.
iceware is offline  
Old 10-03-2004, 10:36 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 887
Default

new hard drive = full format
just want to clean off the hard drive = full or quick.
__________________

xotix is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.