new hard drive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-11-2004, 04:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default new hard drive

Hi
I have figured that my hard drive has died on me. Can you tell me if i should go for a SATA drive or a normal drive.

i have figured an 80 Gig drive is good enough

which make should i go for?
__________________

rookie1010 is offline  
Old 12-11-2004, 04:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

how does the detect process work. I mean the first thing my machine does is detect IDE drives, if it sees a CD-ROM IDE drive and a SATA hard drive, then will there be a conflict/issue, till now i had been using both IDE drives as CD-ROM and the hard drive
__________________

rookie1010 is offline  
Old 12-11-2004, 04:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 333
Default

Does your motherboard natively support a SATA drive? Yes you can run SATA devices and IDE devices on the same machine with no conflict issues. I am thinking that your motherboard probably doesn't have SATA connectors and then you would need an adapter which still doesn't give you the throughput of a true SATA connection. If that is the case, then I would just buy a fast IDE drive. If your motherboard does have SATA connections then you will need to enable them. There is a sticky on this forum that has the exact steps to installing SATA hard drives.
__________________
3 different OS, so yep I\'m confused.
m3incorp is offline  
Old 12-11-2004, 05:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

yes, my motherboard 81875 ultra does have SATA connectors, but if it is going to be difficult trying to get them to work, i would probably have IDE hard drive instead

can you suggest IDE drive makes
& SATA drive makes

i think an 80 GB drive would be good enough
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 12-11-2004, 06:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

I would go for IDE. Fast enuff, unless you are a HD freak like me I love HD's... and I need new ones .. lol

If you are a hardcore gamer, go for SATA, you won't notice a HUGE difference, though. Or am I wrong??
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-11-2004, 06:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 333
Default

Given that the cost is pretty close, It's really up to you. Installing SATA isn't that hard, you just have a certain procedure to follow. I would recommend Segate for either SATA or IDE. Also, if you check online, sales at places such as Staples, Frys. You can get a lot of hard drive for the money. A 160 Gig hard drive can be had for around $60-70 when on sale. As long as you get a fast IDE hard drive, I think you will be happy.
__________________
3 different OS, so yep I\'m confused.
m3incorp is offline  
Old 12-11-2004, 07:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

i dont know if my WD 160 Gig died on me, i just got it less than a year back. major i will try your suggestion, and see if it works.

this is a real pain, i have been at it for almost 10 hours now, and no luck. i will get that new drive anyways. i think i will go for a 120 gig drive, i dont think i will go for a WD, i will check the drive in my old machine, i am not sure if it is a seagate or a maxtor, which ever one it is, i will go for it, that is the only reliable hard drive i have ever had, rest have all broken down on me
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 12-12-2004, 04:33 PM   #8 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

I have been screwing with my computer for 40hours now.. no luck.. don't give up, keep trying!
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.