New CPU Problems - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-08-2004, 02:40 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 10
Default

i have done, my CPU Frequency is at 166 mhz.
__________________

Themis is offline  
Old 12-08-2004, 02:48 PM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 70
Default

hmmm...very strange 166FSB is the correct setting for that processor?

Ok I was reading the bios section. Its seems there's been a problem with the MB detecting the frequency of the Barton CPU's. You need to update your bios to the edition released 10/14/2004.



Try this link

Also what's your ram type, amount, and speed?
__________________

__________________
Antec Black Case
Athlon 1700XP 266Mhz Bus
Giga-Byte GA-7DXE
512MB Pc2700 DDR Ram
WD 7200RPM 40 GB HD
Maxtor 8GB HD
Geforce FX 5700LE w/ 128mb ram
SB Audigy Card
Win XP Home Edition
Altec Lansing 5.1 Speaker System
RangerX is offline  
Old 12-08-2004, 02:49 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 10
Default

512 DDR PC2700
Themis is offline  
Old 12-08-2004, 03:12 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 10
Default

how do i install that bios file?
Themis is offline  
Old 12-08-2004, 03:48 PM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 70
Default

At the bottom of the last link I gave you there's the Bios Update which you have to download and a flash utility which you also have to download. NExt to the flash utility there's a link "How to Flash Bios" Which means to update it.
__________________
Antec Black Case
Athlon 1700XP 266Mhz Bus
Giga-Byte GA-7DXE
512MB Pc2700 DDR Ram
WD 7200RPM 40 GB HD
Maxtor 8GB HD
Geforce FX 5700LE w/ 128mb ram
SB Audigy Card
Win XP Home Edition
Altec Lansing 5.1 Speaker System
RangerX is offline  
Old 12-08-2004, 04:01 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 10
Default

the how to flash bios thing doesnt load
Themis is offline  
Old 12-08-2004, 04:45 PM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 70
Default

I was able to open the link but I couldn't put the pics up.

If you have WinXP or Win 2000 you may have to email the PcChips website about updating the bios because they only say to use a boot disk. Maybe someone else on this forum can help??

Here's what I got from the link:


STEP 1:

Make a DOS boot diskette. (See example: Windows 98 O.S.)
Beware: Windows 2000 / XP are not allowed to make a DOS boot diskette.
With an available floppy disk in the floppy drive. Please leave the diskette "UN-write protected" type. Double click the "My Computer" icon from Desktop, then click "3.5 diskette (A)" and right click to select "Format (M)".




Select the "Quick (erase)" for Format Type, and pick both "Display summary when finished" and "Copy system files", after that press "Start". That will format the floppy and copy the needed system files to it.




After the floppy has been formatted completely, please press "Close".




STEP 2:Download BIOS and BIOS utility program.

Please go to PCCHIPS website http://www.pcchips.com.tw and click "Download".
At “Download” zone, click the "BIOS" and “BIOS Flash Utility”.
Choose an appropriate model name in accordance with user's manual or based on the motherboard revision that can be found near the DIMM slot.

STEP 3 :
Make sure the system will boot from the floppy disk. After the system boot from floppy disk, type "A:\> dir" and press "Enter" to check the entire files in floppy A. Then type the "BIOS flash utility" and "BIOS file" after A:\>. In this case you have to type "A:\> aminf339 031205s.rom " and then press "Enter".


Now screen appears the following Flash Utility screen. Please check whether new BIOS tag is correct. Right after that, press [Enter] to start BIOS flash procedure or press [Esc] to abort.




Beware: Please do not turn off the system while you are upgrading BIOS. It will render your BIOS corrupted and system totally inoperative.



When the BIOS flash completed. It will auto restart the system.

STEP 4 : Load BIOS defaults
Normally the system redetects all devices after BIOS has been upgraded. Therefore, we highly recommend reloading the BIOS defaults after BIOS has been upgraded. This important step resets everything after the flash.
The boot up screen will indicate your motherboard model and current BIOS version.


Press [F1] key to enter BIOS setup when system is boot up. Use the arrows to highlight the item "LOAD OPTIMAL SETTINGS" then press "Enter". System will ask "Load Optimal Settings (Y/N)?" Press "Y" and "Enter" keys to confirm. Then press [F10] key to save & exit setup.











All trademarks are properties of their respective holders. Intel® Pentium® are owned by Intel. SiS® is owned by SiS. VIA® is owned by Via.
© 2004 Elitegroup Computer Systems. All Rights Reserved
__________________
Antec Black Case
Athlon 1700XP 266Mhz Bus
Giga-Byte GA-7DXE
512MB Pc2700 DDR Ram
WD 7200RPM 40 GB HD
Maxtor 8GB HD
Geforce FX 5700LE w/ 128mb ram
SB Audigy Card
Win XP Home Edition
Altec Lansing 5.1 Speaker System
RangerX is offline  
Old 12-09-2004, 06:46 AM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 10
Default

Thanks man im going to look into this today seems complicated.
__________________

Themis is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.