New Computer - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-26-2004, 11:05 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 205
Default

ibuypower has a 3 year parts/lifetime tech help warranty

cyberpowerinc has a 3 year parts/lifetime tech help warranty

ABS has a 1 year parts/ lifetime tech help warranty
__________________

__________________
Shuttle XPC SB61G2
P4 2.8 800 Mhz FSB
1024 Dual channel DDR400
ATI AIW 9700 Pro
120 GB Maxtor SATA
Lite-On 411S DVD+-R/RW
Logitech Elite Duo wireless KB/Mouse
nvalhalla is offline  
Old 01-26-2004, 11:17 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 218
Default

If I was you would serious try to convince your parents to let you build a pc because if you know what ur are doing you can build a pretty sick pc for $1500. Not top of the line, but you probably could never buy a complete system that good.

It all depends on what are u gona use your pc for- if its a gaming pc dont go with Dell, but if only thng your gona do with your pc is browse the net, play mp3 and do word processing you should go with Dell.
__________________

Stupid is offline  
Old 01-26-2004, 11:33 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 297
Send a message via AIM to BlindApex
Default

Alienware gets PC Gamer's Editor's Choice Award like every year...but they're mighty expensive
BlindApex is offline  
Old 01-27-2004, 12:27 AM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 643
Send a message via AIM to anarchy
Default

Ya, Dell isn't for gaming, that's for sure.

If it's for gaming, I strongly suggest building your own, or atleast choosing your own parts and having someone install it...

If it's for general use, go with Dell, Dell is the best for that...
__________________


Search TF!
<form method=\"get\" action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form></small></font></p></p>
anarchy is offline  
Old 01-27-2004, 12:01 PM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 87
Default

Well I talked it over with the parents...they refuse to go with custom builds, and don't even ask about letting me build my own...

looks like Dell is my best bet. Would the 4600 be a decent computer? I don't game often, but if I wanted to play the newest games, would it run them fine?

Thanks for all your help.
BlackmanOne is offline  
Old 01-27-2004, 12:04 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 205
Default

What config of the 4600?
__________________
Shuttle XPC SB61G2
P4 2.8 800 Mhz FSB
1024 Dual channel DDR400
ATI AIW 9700 Pro
120 GB Maxtor SATA
Lite-On 411S DVD+-R/RW
Logitech Elite Duo wireless KB/Mouse
nvalhalla is offline  
Old 01-27-2004, 01:08 PM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 87
Default

TECH SPECS

Processor
Pentium® 4 Processor at 2.60GHz w/800MHz front side bus/ HT Technology

Operating System
Microsoft® Windows® XP Home Edition¹²

Memory
FREE UPGRADE! 512MB DDR SDRAM AT 400MHZ

Hard Drive
80GB Ultra ATA/100 Hard Drive (7200 RPM)

CD or DVD Drive
16X DVD ROM Drive


I'm gonna change the video card from integrated to 128MB DDR NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200 Graphics Card with TV-Out and DVI
BlackmanOne is offline  
Old 01-27-2004, 03:44 PM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 218
Default

It would probably run newest games, but not on the highest settings. you can buy a dell and get a GOOD video card, then you'll be fine, all games should run smooth, also later on get more RAM.
Stupid is offline  
Old 01-27-2004, 05:13 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 643
Send a message via AIM to anarchy
Default

yea, I agree with mr. stupid....Your setup is pretty good, just make sure you get a tight video card and you should have no problems....Get at lease a gig of ram and if you have the money, bumb up to 120 gb hard drive. The you'll be in great shape. But the setup you have now shouldn't give you any problems...
__________________


Search TF!
<form method=\"get\" action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form></small></font></p></p>
anarchy is offline  
Old 01-27-2004, 06:11 PM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 120
Default

make sure the hard drive is 8mb cache !
__________________

David2004 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.