N00B question , ram - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-08-2007, 09:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default N00B question , ram

if you have a system that uses ddr2 ram can you put normal ddr ram in also?
__________________

__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 04-08-2007, 09:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 62
Default Re: N00B question , ram

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikee View Post
if you have a system that uses ddr2 ram can you put normal ddr ram in also?
No. DDR2 is a different specification than DDR. If I remember correctly, DDR won't even fit into a DDR2 slot.
__________________

firemandave is offline  
Old 04-08-2007, 09:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: N00B question , ram

no ddr2 and ddr uses different slots
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 04-08-2007, 09:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Phantom118's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 724
Default Re: N00B question , ram

ya the reason behind that is... DDR 2 typically has more pins than DDR.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3282468
Phantom118 is offline  
Old 04-08-2007, 10:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
j12
Monster Techie
 
j12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,133
Default Re: N00B question , ram

yeah ddr2 won't fit in a ddr slot and vice versa.
__________________

Laptop:
MacBook 2.2GHz Santa Rosa | 120GB HDD | 4GB ram
Desktop:
Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.2GHz | 4GB ram | 880GB total HDD space | Gigabyte P965-DS3 | eVGA 8800GTS 640mb | Corsair HX 520 | Audigy 2 ZS platnium | Antec 900
j12 is offline  
Old 04-09-2007, 12:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,012
Default Re: N00B question , ram

hmmm.. I thought i saw a a thing on tigerdirect.ca, it was a barebone system and it said under mobo and ram type ddr,ddr2
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 1400 3.2Ghz
16GB CORSAIR Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400 Ram
Crucial M500 240GB SSD (boot drive)
500GB WD 5000AAKX-001CA0
1.5 TB Seagate ST1500DM003
Zotac Geforce GTX 950 2GB GDDR5
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
mikee is offline  
Old 04-09-2007, 12:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Phantom118's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 724
Default Re: N00B question , ram

I dont know anything about that but maby the board had 2 DDR sockets and 2 DDR2 sockets... you'll have to look into it.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3282468
Phantom118 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I.E 7 question jason74 Internet Software and Browsers 11 04-10-2007 07:19 PM
RAM Compatibility question XxBoBxX Overclocking and Modding 1 04-06-2007 04:02 PM
a question I should know the answer to but don't plumber4578 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 03-30-2007 09:19 PM
sony ericsson w810i ringtone question alextrzaska Off Topic Discussion 2 03-30-2007 01:12 PM
Question on hard drive quality? ingeborgdot New Systems | Building and Buying 4 03-28-2007 12:48 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.