My monitor - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-13-2009, 05:39 PM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 61
Default Re: My monitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hefemeister View Post
So you are at 50C on idle? That is hot. How hot did it get when the computer crashed?

Did you clean out the inside of your case?

May want to remount your heatsink. Check it and see how dusty it is and if the fan is actually running on it.
The temp is 68+ when playing Silkroad.
I cleaned out the case, only a little bit of dust left.
I couldn't see when the comp crashed.
It crashes right when im playing game so I can't alt tab fast enough.
How would I remount the Heatsink btw?
Im a noobie at changing parts/etc
__________________

Dustin123 is offline  
Old 07-13-2009, 05:48 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: My monitor

get some good thermal paste. I recommended tx-2.

If I remember my AMD correctly there is a lever bar that you pull out and up to remove the heatsink.

clean the old thermal paste off of the cpu and heatsink. coffee filter and rubbing alcohol works good.

apply a single rice grain amount of the thermal paste on the center of the cpu. replace the heatsink in the same fasion as you took it off.

You can also search around for guides on specific parts of the task.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 07-13-2009, 05:50 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 61
Default Re: My monitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hefemeister View Post
get some good thermal paste. I recommended tx-2.

If I remember my AMD correctly there is a lever bar that you pull out and up to remove the heatsink.

clean the old thermal paste off of the cpu and heatsink. coffee filter and rubbing alcohol works good.

apply a single rice grain amount of the thermal paste on the center of the cpu. replace the heatsink in the same fasion as you took it off.

You can also search around for guides on specific parts of the task.
Seems hard. >_>
I'm gonna try and blow it off with a dust can first.
:]
Dustin123 is offline  
Old 07-13-2009, 05:50 PM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: My monitor

run it with the case open as well to see if that helps.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 07-13-2009, 07:22 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,534
Default Re: My monitor

I had that problem with my old computer. Have you checked the BIOS to see if there's a temp that the computer will shut off at? Someone decided to play a game with me, and put mine on 55C... It was an annoying day 'til I figured out what had been happening.
__________________
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 : AMD FX 9370 : Corsair H100i GTX Cooler : 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600 (4x4Gb) : XFX 7970 Ghz 3GB x 2 : PNY XLR8 256GB SSD : Seagate 1TB : Antec True Power Quattro 1000W : Thermaltake G41
95BlackGA is offline  
Old 07-13-2009, 07:26 PM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 61
Default Re: My monitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by 95BlackGA View Post
I had that problem with my old computer. Have you checked the BIOS to see if there's a temp that the computer will shut off at? Someone decided to play a game with me, and put mine on 55C... It was an annoying day 'til I figured out what had been happening.
Tell me how to figure that out!
Omg D:
Never knew there was a setting for that
Dustin123 is offline  
Old 07-13-2009, 07:43 PM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: My monitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dustin123 View Post
Tell me how to figure that out!
Omg D:
Never knew there was a setting for that
If your not going to monitor the dust levels and your system temps frequently I wouldn't suggest changing that setting at all. Otherwise it may not start back up the next time it overheats. My best advise is to listen to Hefe, he's doing you right
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 07-17-2009, 04:24 PM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 61
Default Re: My monitor

My heatsink isn't dirty.
I cleaned it with an aircan and took 90% of the dust out.
I now crash 10 mins into the game.
Would reformating solve this?
Dustin123 is offline  
Old 07-18-2009, 03:51 PM   #19 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: My monitor

Reformatting won't have any effect on temps so it won't help. I suggest trying what Hefemeister posted earlier, it should take care of the problem.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 07-18-2009, 03:59 PM   #20 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 61
Default Re: My monitor

Quote:
Originally Posted by Puddle Jumper View Post
Reformatting won't have any effect on temps so it won't help. I suggest trying what Hefemeister posted earlier, it should take care of the problem.
It didn't work.
I already reformated didn't work.
My idle temp goes from 45-50 in like 5 mins.
Ingame I cant even see it so it just crashes
__________________

Dustin123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Your LCD Monitor and You Fat.Clown Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 22 01-30-2017 07:05 AM
laptop not connecting to external monitor ryan12891 Laptops and Notebooks 1 06-27-2009 06:26 PM
Non-responding monitor Spiffi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 06-12-2009 02:12 PM
Monitor Your Linux Desktop with Gkrellm Osiris Linux Tips and Tricks 5 02-03-2009 03:30 PM
Dual Monitor Issue Ultra Steel Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 04-18-2007 08:03 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.