My board doesnt recognize my SATA - HELP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-13-2004, 08:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8
Default My board doesnt recognize my SATA - HELP

Help me please,
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hi everyone, can anyone help me please?
I've just bought a new Board from Intel, the 915PCYL. This board is designed for SATA.
But for some reason, i think it doesn't regconize my hard drive as SATA. It think my HDD is only UADA 100.
Can some one help me to fix it?
I bought the HDD OEM, so i did go up to Seagate website to download the DISCWIZARD and install the driver already. I dunno if i did it rite or not. I used the floppy disk version. Since my SATA is the main disk, i only let the floppy disks reboot my PC, then i restart and run as normal.
Here is when I turn on the Intel Untilities windows for Hard drives:

Model : ST3160023AS
Max. Transfer Mode : UDMA 5 ( ATA/100)
Active Transfer Mode : UDMA 5 (ATA/100)
S.M.A.R.T. Status : Enabled
Size : 152.6Gb

I dont think this show that my drive is recognize as SATA
__________________

oldstu12A4 is offline  
Old 11-13-2004, 08:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Are u sure its a SATA drive?
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-13-2004, 09:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8
Default

yep, 100% sure. Even though i bought it OEM.
It used SATA connection. I can tell. lol.
I am wondering whether i should re-install everything again. I meant reformat the SATA and install everthing again.
oldstu12A4 is offline  
Old 11-13-2004, 09:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 8
Default

oh, if i want to reformat everything. What do you guys think i should do?
I have the floppy disk contain the driver for the SATA. Should I use that first, before I install WINXP, for should I install WINXP, then reboot the computer by the floppy so that hopefully my SATA will be recognize as SATA?
oldstu12A4 is offline  
Old 11-13-2004, 09:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

You can press (F9 i think) when loading XP setup to install third party SATA drivers from a floppy.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.