MSI 9600 Pro. Your opinions. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-13-2005, 11:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 161
Default MSI 9600 Pro. Your opinions.

What are your opinions on this videocard. I am considering buying one for my computer and I want someones opinion on this card.
__________________

pdxsk8er is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 12:02 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

NO. do not buy it

it's not worth the money at ALL

get a eVGA or leadtek 6600gt AGP instead

if you don't have the money, save up for it

the 9600 is WAY outdated
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 12:06 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 161
Default

I have a budget of $120 and don't have time to wait another month or two to get it. I have to be at a lanparty by friday and need something to play doom 3 at 1024x768 at high or medium quality atleast.
pdxsk8er is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 12:08 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

good luck playing with low settings and pray it doesn't lag
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 12:39 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 531
Send a message via AIM to jnev_89
Default

get some more money, a 9600 will not be able to play doom3 that well. a 6600gt (or even regular 6600) will be much better and not much more expensive
jnev_89 is offline  
Old 04-14-2005, 02:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 161
Default

I may think about buying one for the other computer I am building but I am not at a point where I can spend roughly $180 for a new videocard right now... I mean the lanparty is tomorrow. Would it play Doom 3 at 800x600, Medium or High Quality, with NO AA or AF enabled. What's the frame rate to be considered.
__________________

pdxsk8er is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.