is this motehrboard good for gaming? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-08-2005, 09:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 549
Send a message via AIM to bigtimeballer50
Default is this motehrboard good for gaming?

hey guys i was gona buy a motherboard and i dont like a via chipset so i found dis one is it good for gaming?

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...130-468&depa=0
__________________

bigtimeballer50 is offline  
Old 03-08-2005, 09:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 611
Default

Yea it's good from a specs point of view. Plenty of slots for everything....wait...You need a special slot for PCIe cards right? or do you need just a PCI slot for PCIe Cards? The rest of it's just from a brand point of view...and i'm not that good at that.
__________________

__________________
AMD Newcastle skt 754 3000+
Elitegroup 755-A2 ATX motherboard
512 DDR RAM
120 gig PATA Hard drive
128 mb AGP 8x ATI Radeon 9250
300 watt 12 volt psu
Antec SLK 1600 case
emeraldice is offline  
Old 03-08-2005, 09:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 549
Send a message via AIM to bigtimeballer50
Default

i dont use any of my pci slots i only have a vide ocard as an agp =) but i just wanna know if that mobo is good and worth it
bigtimeballer50 is offline  
Old 03-08-2005, 09:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 611
Default

You should wait around for more responses....I don't wanna be blaimed for a bad purchase....
__________________
AMD Newcastle skt 754 3000+
Elitegroup 755-A2 ATX motherboard
512 DDR RAM
120 gig PATA Hard drive
128 mb AGP 8x ATI Radeon 9250
300 watt 12 volt psu
Antec SLK 1600 case
emeraldice is offline  
Old 03-08-2005, 09:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 549
Send a message via AIM to bigtimeballer50
Default

lol ok ill wait for responses
bigtimeballer50 is offline  
Old 03-08-2005, 11:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 549
Send a message via AIM to bigtimeballer50
Default

but i dont know 1 of my friends said it wasgood
bigtimeballer50 is offline  
Old 03-08-2005, 11:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: is this motehrboard good for gaming?

Quote:
Originally posted by bigtimeballer50
hey guys i was gona buy a motherboard and i dont like a via chipset so i found dis one is it good for gaming?

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...130-468&depa=0
I playied around with one of these motherboards last week.

Please note that memory need to be all matching modules, otherwise it will not boot up. The Dual Channel ram is rather fussy on it.
Most other boards will just run at Single channel with un matching pairs. This motherboard will not run at all if the ram is not matching. And ALL must be matching.

Apart from that, this mother board is really good if you have no plans to upgrade your video card to PCI-X.


Apart from that, it's good motherboard. I like it.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 03-08-2005, 11:33 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 549
Send a message via AIM to bigtimeballer50
Default

so u mean they have 2 be the same brand so it can be dual?
bigtimeballer50 is offline  
Old 03-08-2005, 11:35 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Yeah you mean guinely rated dual channel ram?
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-08-2005, 11:37 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 549
Send a message via AIM to bigtimeballer50
Default

awt do u mean ? i wana run dual channel with 2 peiceis of corsair 512
__________________

bigtimeballer50 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.