Memory question? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-27-2004, 11:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 527
Default Memory question?

Okay so the mobos only say they support up to pc3200. So how is everything past that compatible. I was looking at the ddr2 with 550mhz.
__________________

__________________
P4 2.26 ghz, Intel d850emv2 mobo, 768mb of pc800, sony 4x dvd-rw, teac burner, nvidia ti4600 graphics, enermax 330watt ps
4 silent uv fans, cold cathodes in full tower antec case, round ide cables

SOny vaio 2.66 ht ghz modded into raidmax case with green cold cathodes.
P4 2.8ghz HT, 512mb ddr, Intel KD865gbfl, onboard video, raidmax case, blue cathodes, round ide, loomed wires, 4x dvd burner, wd sata 80gb hard drive
Intel d865perl, 2.8ghz northwood, antec sonata, wd caviar 20gb, Corsair 512mbx1 for now. 380watt psu, ati 9600, dvdrom cdrw floppy in black too match case
mrzeeedler is offline  
Old 06-28-2004, 03:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 348
Default

It depends on the ram. Most ram these days is backward compatible. Im not too clued up on this ddr2 stuff though. Maybe email the ram manufacturer?
__________________

sithspawn is offline  
Old 06-28-2004, 03:22 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 340
Default

I think you need a mobo with ddr2 support, and ddr2 comes in pc2-3200 or pc2-4200.
__________________
I wish I had a computer but I am broke!!!
AndrewtheGreat is offline  
Old 06-28-2004, 07:51 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 826
Default

Just afraid that the machine will crash cosz using not supported Rams.
__________________
http://blog.diyersitzone.net/

AMD Athlon 64x2 4000+
2GB Kingston DDRII667Mhz
MSI K9Neo-F
MSI 256MB GeForce8500GT
Western Digital 160GB SATAII HDD
Maxtor 80GB 8M ATA133 HDD
LG 4163B DVDRW
17" Samsung 793Dfx Monitor
Win XP Pro
didi is offline  
Old 06-28-2004, 04:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 194
Default

Trust me when I say unless the motherboard supports DDR2 you will not be able to use it. DDR2 memory is 240pin and DDR is 184pin. The two are not compatible. Non-standard memory is anything over PC3200, this is a JEDEC standard unless it is DDR2 then PC4000 is the standard right now.
__________________
Crucial Performance Lab
http://images.crucial.com/images/v8_...ucial_logo.gif
www.crucial.com
The Memory Experts(SM) at Crucial Technology is now on board to give you straight answers to your memory-related questions.
When responding please provide your full system specs; hardware and software, OS, BIOS, drivers Etc. You can e-mailmemory related questions to cpl@micron.com
CrucialLabs is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.