Memory Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-26-2004, 04:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 22
Default Memory Question

Right now, my computer can only support of to two sticks of 128 sdram.... I want to buy some more RAM right away because it is needed badly. I am also going to be upgrading my computer, so if I were to buy a stick of 256 MB DDR Ram, would it still work on my computer but just run at 128 MB or would it cause problems and not work?
__________________

Fokz is offline  
Old 06-26-2004, 04:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

Yeah, it would work, you can buy a stick of DDR400 and stick it in there, but it will only run as fast as the current stick you have in there.......
__________________

__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 06-26-2004, 04:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 346
Send a message via Yahoo to rakesh_1024
Default

U cannot add DDR-RAM into an SD-RAM slot.
__________________
www.tech-station.net

P4 1.6GHZ Willamette core 400MHZ FSB 256KB L2 cache
Intel 845WN Mobo
256mb SD-RAM
Nvidia Riva Tnt2 M64 G-card
40GB Seagate 5400rpm HDD
300Watt PSU
Intex Cabinet
15 LG Studioworks563N
Creative Inspire2400 2.1 speakers
16x DVD ROM
52x Samsung CD Burner
rakesh_1024 is offline  
Old 06-26-2004, 04:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 22
Default

I got a 128MB and a 64MB in it right now.

....I don't know who to believe here :|
Fokz is offline  
Old 06-26-2004, 04:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 346
Send a message via Yahoo to rakesh_1024
Default

Hey Merlin, Could u please justify ur reply.

BTW Fokz, U can get ur answer from ur motherboard manual.
If u don't have it check in the manufacturers website.
__________________
www.tech-station.net

P4 1.6GHZ Willamette core 400MHZ FSB 256KB L2 cache
Intel 845WN Mobo
256mb SD-RAM
Nvidia Riva Tnt2 M64 G-card
40GB Seagate 5400rpm HDD
300Watt PSU
Intex Cabinet
15 LG Studioworks563N
Creative Inspire2400 2.1 speakers
16x DVD ROM
52x Samsung CD Burner
rakesh_1024 is offline  
Old 06-26-2004, 05:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 22
Default

RAM (standard)
64 megabytes (MB) SDRAM standard

Maximum
256 MB (2 x 128 MB DIMM)

Speed
100 MHz synchronous

Sockets
Two 168-pin DIMMs

Size
16, 32, 64, and 128 MB DIMMs

Pairs Required
No

Type Supported
SDRAM, 100 MHz,

Intel PC SDRAM unbuffered DIMM specification,

revision 1.0 compliant


..... I don't think it would work .....
Fokz is offline  
Old 06-26-2004, 05:09 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 22
Default

hmmm.... I was reading through the rest of the specs, and some of them weren't even right...didn't even have the same bios... stupid HP is crap. lol.
Fokz is offline  
Old 06-26-2004, 05:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

I didn't realize it was SD-RAM Sorry
__________________

__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.