Master/slave or CSEL - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-27-2005, 10:21 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 9
Default Master/slave or CSEL

What is the prefered method to have two DVD burners? As master and slave or cable select? One might wonder why two burners. Well they are so cheap now days and I have to replace my CD burner and DVD ROM why not.
Thanks
__________________

daveg48 is offline  
Old 07-27-2005, 10:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default

Really doesn't matter. The only advantage to Cable Select is not having to set jumpers. But regular IDE/ATA cables don't support cable select, so most people just don't use it.
__________________

__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 05:05 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 23
Default

Actually, wether you use Master/Slave/Cable Select doesn't matter as long as the drive is recognized in the bios. However the one thing I would strongly recommend is that the drives are on seperate IDE channels. This will provide significant performance increases (specifically for doing disc to disc copies). I typically have one drive as the slave to my HDD on the primary IDE and the other a master on the secondary IDE channel.
anmont is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 07:59 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

on one IDE cable, you can have 2 drives. the first will be the master, the second the slave.

basically, just make sure there is only one master, and one slave on each cable.
you would have your preferred drive as master
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 11:32 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 23
Default

Well, that may be a little vauge. On your primary IDE Channel the Primary drive should be the one that is bootable.

And the term preffered above is loosely used, as it does not imply an performance increase or "status boost".

And there truly is no place like 127.0.0.1 However if that means IIS 4, then it is never a good thing.
anmont is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.