MacOSX, Linux, or Windows XP? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-18-2005, 04:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 609
Default MacOSX, Linux, or Windows XP?

Ok guys, pretty sure I'm at Waubonsee College right now, and I'm using there computers. It's a MAC, I think 10.4 (Tiger) I want to say. I like it more than my XP Home at home, but I was reading up on it. Do you need some special comp for it or what? LOL prbably sounding totally n00b. But I was reading about special processors. Like could I put Mac or Linux on the comp in my sig? Or is that just the dumbest thing any of you guys have heard.
__________________

__________________

•AMD 8120 @ 3.8Ghz
•CoolerMaster Hyper212 EVO
•MSI 970A G46
•8GB Dual-Channel 1600Mhz DDR3 Corsair Vengeance
•eVGA 660 GTX Ti
•128gb Samsung 830 SSD (OS, Games)
•2TB Seagate 7200rpm 64mb Barracuda SATA6GB's
•640gb WD (Cavier Blue)
•CoolerMaster HAF-X
AuThoRitY is offline  
Old 07-18-2005, 06:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
sheky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 94
Send a message via AIM to sheky
Default

Yes, you can put Linux on the comp in your sig, however, the newest core that most Linux environments use (red hat, fedora, debian, etc.) say Athlon has received more buggy performance than Intel.
OtOH, You can't use Mac OS's with an AMD processer (or an Intel).
However, if you just like the layout of the Mac you saw, there are plenty of Mac skins on the internet to make it look as if you were running a Mac.
One last thing, Linux (and windows, but not as well) can run Virtual machines of any OS, so you can run a Windows (Works, I use it) and Mac (I believe, I've never tried).
__________________

sheky is offline  
Old 07-18-2005, 06:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 609
Default

?
__________________

•AMD 8120 @ 3.8Ghz
•CoolerMaster Hyper212 EVO
•MSI 970A G46
•8GB Dual-Channel 1600Mhz DDR3 Corsair Vengeance
•eVGA 660 GTX Ti
•128gb Samsung 830 SSD (OS, Games)
•2TB Seagate 7200rpm 64mb Barracuda SATA6GB's
•640gb WD (Cavier Blue)
•CoolerMaster HAF-X
AuThoRitY is offline  
Old 07-18-2005, 06:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

Yes, but...

...you would have to get a copy of PearPC, which emulates the PPC found in Macs.

It's nice to play with, but it isn't for the "average" user.

If you want Mac OS X that bad, pick up a $499 Mac Mini and play with it.

EDIT: And you can put Linux on just about any modern personal compuer.

EDIT (again): About the newer cores being more stable on Intels than AMDs...
...I've never experienced this problem, and if you get an x64 distro, that problem is practically nonexistent.
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.