Kicked off every 15 minutes ! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-14-2005, 10:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 189
Default Kicked off every 15 minutes !

My wifes gateway just started kicking her off the internet about every 15 minutes . Do you think her modem is going bad ? ISP is wal mart and works fine on 2 other rigs.
__________________

geekster is offline  
Old 05-14-2005, 10:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 240
Default

Do you have XP? If so, check your Internet Information Security and your network connection. Does the connection cut in and out? or is it windows?
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://photobucket.com\" target=\"_blank\"><img src=\"http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y107/The51/photoshops/1.jpg\" border=\"0\" alt=\"Image hosting by Photobucket\"></a>
The51 is offline  
Old 05-14-2005, 10:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 189
Default

Xp SP2, All works fine except for getting booted. Ran spybot- all is good, ran avg scan-no viruses. I got booted after my last post.
geekster is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 03:29 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

People still use dial-up? Could be a faulty wire that connects your modem to your phone jack... Could be a faulty modem... Try taking a modem out of another PC and installing it in that one. Connect to the internet and see if you get booted. OR go spend 30.00 on a new modem...
HAVOC is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 04:01 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by HAVOC2k5
People still use dial-up?
yes, not everyone lives in an area with lots of choices of ISP's

unfortuantely me crappy area only offers dial-up or adelphia cable

well it was either the 33/55 dial-up or the 4000/386 cable, so i went with cable, even though it sucks cable doesn't suck, adelphia does)

i wish Verizon was available at my house (my neighbor that's about a hundred feet away from me has verizon DSL...argh)
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-15-2005, 09:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 189
Default

Tried my modem from my rig-- same thing. My wife deleted some files , maybe she deleted something she shouldnt have.I tried a repair install and it went to error saying some files were missing. I guess its time for a fomat.
geekster is offline  
Old 05-18-2005, 10:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 189
Default

Oh no !!! I reformatted drive c and reinstalled xp on my wifes rig only to find it still boots me off after about 15 minutes. Its not the modem. Its not xp. Its not the phone line. All have been checked with spare parts. When I query the modem in diagnostics , it says last disconnect was from [carrier lost (code 60) pci ]. I think I may have a pci problem because the comp works perfect other than the internet connection. Any ideas ?
geekster is offline  
Old 05-18-2005, 10:55 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

Well... mine kinda did the same thing... but.. a new modem fixed the problem... but then also brought me from a 42.2 kbps connection to a 19.2.... even tho this modem is better.. idk wtf happened to do THAT.. but...hmmm... any chance a virus avg didnt pick up that could be screwing around with ur connection?? or a cracker or summin??
Static_11 is offline  
Old 05-18-2005, 11:18 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

Walmart? Soon....very soon.... They will take over the world. MUAHAHAHA
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 05-19-2005, 02:38 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I'd say it's either the wire (like HAVOC2k5 said) or the modem itself
you can get a new 56k modem for about $10
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.