invalid boot diskette on swapping HDD's - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-13-2004, 01:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 84
Default invalid boot diskette on swapping HDD's

Hi Guys,
I've taken HDD out of a machine that fried its power supply and put into a known working machine by swapping the HDD. Whenever I try and boot though I get a Invalid Boot diskette error and go no further. Cannot see the c drive at all at command prompts etc. I'm sure the cables are fine.
I'm trying all the different settings for the jumpers but none seem to work.
It is a samsung 4.Gb drive that I'm trying it with into a Gateway win98 machine.
Now I can't seem to find the right settings for the IDE config with which to set it as the auto detect doesn't seem to work.
The samsung is six years old but seems fine...maybe it got fried too?
Cant find the docs anywahere and the jumper settings are on the drive anyway.
__________________

__________________
...cos we\'re travelling...at the speed of thought...UltraMagnetics
muradtalukdar is offline  
Old 05-13-2004, 01:13 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 175
Default

make sure it's primary partition and active partition to be bootable, process through bios
__________________

kopenhagen is offline  
Old 05-13-2004, 01:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 84
Default

Don't follow you kopenhagen, it seems to me that the BIOS can't even detect it as it says in the IDE CONFIG that nothing is installed under the Master? What's the process through BIOS mean?

The primary (and only) was bootable when it was in the old machine before the PS fried. When that happened it burnout the 12 pin connector on the mainboard and I'm wondering if it has done something to the HDD power pins/connector too? Doesn't look like it though.
Thanks mate.
__________________
...cos we\'re travelling...at the speed of thought...UltraMagnetics
muradtalukdar is offline  
Old 05-13-2004, 01:59 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 84
Default

Okay, here's something.
If the drive doesn't spin at all when it's powered up does that signal something bad?
__________________
...cos we\'re travelling...at the speed of thought...UltraMagnetics
muradtalukdar is offline  
Old 05-13-2004, 02:01 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 84
Default

Thanks MB you posted at the same time as me before--seems like the HDD is toast as it won't even spin so thanks for the advice!
__________________
...cos we\'re travelling...at the speed of thought...UltraMagnetics
muradtalukdar is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.