Installing SATA with Win XP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-01-2005, 05:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 22
Question Installing SATA with Win XP

Hi, I have a problem with installing the SATA hard drive. This is a Seagate 80GB SATA with model #ST380013AS. I bought all new parts for a new computer and my motherboard is a ASUS A7V600-X http://usa.asus.com/products/mb/sock...x/overview.htm . I am just not excatly sure how to install it because it keeps on giving me the "Setup did not find any hard drive" error when installing a OS. I read the faq from http://www.seagate.com/support/kb/di...ta_detect.html but it does not help. If the motherboard have a SATA, I wouldn't need a SATA host adapter right? I also tried the DiscWizard Starter Edition, which was provided at thier website but it still gives me the same error. For SATA, is there any jumper setting like for the IDE hard drives to determine master or slave? I try messing around with the BIO setting but nothing seem to work. I been working on this for a couple of days...

Any information would help

Thanks
__________________

rhonjo is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 05:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

When you boot into xp it goes to that blue screen where it says setup is detecting the systems hardware, look at the bottom, it will say somethin glike press F7 to instal 3rd party scsi drivers, press the button it says. You will need to find the floppy disk that came with your motherboard/harddrive and put that in the floppy drive select the appropiate driver for the harddrive.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 06:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 22
Default

It's actually F6 but I already tried that before. The thing is that neither the motherboard or the hard drive came with any floppy. The motherboard came with a CD and I tried using that but it didn't work out. I downloaded start up cd from seagate and tried it but it didn't work out. Any more suggestion?

thanks
rhonjo is offline  
Old 05-01-2005, 06:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 694
Default

I would make sure the SATA drives are enabled in the BIOS. You said you tried messing around with the BIOS, read the manual and make sure you haven't disabled the SATA by accident.

If there are more than one SATA connector on the mobo, try using the other one.

I would also like to add that you only need one power cable for the SATA drives. My drives could use the newer SATA power connector or the old stand-by: Molex connectors. As i understand it, if you plug in both power cables, you will ruin the drive.
__________________
Lian Li Aluminum Case
Intel D975XBXK2R Mobo
Core 2 Duo E6700 CPU
EVGA 8800 GTS Video Card
Corsair XMS 2 x 1gig RAM
Zalman 9500 CPU cooler
hercules_upw is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 12:38 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 22
Default

I am pretty sure SATA are enabled and I tried the other connection...if anyone installed SATA drives before, can you tell me step by step instruction what you did cuz I am dying to know to fix the problem.

thanks
rhonjo is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 01:03 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 206
Send a message via AIM to NickBrown7804
Default

Its rather simple. Try formating each individuale HD serperatly. If your setting up the raid using f7 im thinking that one of the HD's is faulty.
__________________
Sometimes I wonder if I\'m enough a nerd to do this...

Intel P4 3.6 Intel LGA775 board.
Nvidia BFG 6800 GT OC PCI-e.
Ultra 600W power supply unit.
2 80 gig Maxtor (raid0) 160 gig (bulk)
OCZ 2048MB 4200 DDR2 (2 x1024MB)
ThermalTake. Tornado primary.
19\" LG LCD
NickBrown7804 is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 02:17 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 111
Default

I recently installed an SATA into an ASUS P4P800-E Deluxe motherboard and had similar trouble. The fix for me was to go into the BIOS and make sure that SATA was BOTH enabled and set to IDE and not RAID, since it sounds like you're not going to use RAID. That did the trick for me. When I rebooted, it recognized the drive.
__________________
Pentium4 3.0C Ghz CPU 800FSB
Zalman CNPS7000A-Cu CPU cooler
Enlight 420 Watt ATX Power Supply
ASUS P4P800 SE Motherboard (Intel 865PE chipset)
2x 512MB Crucial PC3200 DDR SDRAM
eVGA Nvidia 128MB e-Geforce 6600GT 8x AGP
WD 74GB Raptor SATA HD (10,000 RPM)
NEC 16x DVD +/- R/RW Writer
NEC 16x DVD-ROM
MyHD 120 PCI HDTV tuner card
Apacer embedded 6in1 card reader
4 Cooler Master 80mm case fans
Vantec HD cooler
Viewsonic P810 21\" CRT monitor
Windows XP Pro Service Pack 1
Dean66 is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 02:24 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

wtf??? you don't need to set up a SATA drive

you only setup for raid
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 05:32 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 22
Default

can u explain more when u said "the fix for me was to go into the BIOS and make sure that SATA was BOTH enabled and set to IDE and not RAID."? so anything raid, i should disable it?
rhonjo is offline  
Old 05-02-2005, 03:43 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 111
Default

Depending on the version of BIOS you have, there should be a setting somewhere which will allow you to enable and disable SATA. Make sure it's enabled. When you enable it, an option should show up that allows you to choose between RAID or IDE. Make sure you choose IDE since you're not running the drive in RAID.

I can't tell you exactly where in BIOS it is, but on my friends ASUS board it was under the category of IDE onboard devices.
__________________

__________________
Pentium4 3.0C Ghz CPU 800FSB
Zalman CNPS7000A-Cu CPU cooler
Enlight 420 Watt ATX Power Supply
ASUS P4P800 SE Motherboard (Intel 865PE chipset)
2x 512MB Crucial PC3200 DDR SDRAM
eVGA Nvidia 128MB e-Geforce 6600GT 8x AGP
WD 74GB Raptor SATA HD (10,000 RPM)
NEC 16x DVD +/- R/RW Writer
NEC 16x DVD-ROM
MyHD 120 PCI HDTV tuner card
Apacer embedded 6in1 card reader
4 Cooler Master 80mm case fans
Vantec HD cooler
Viewsonic P810 21\" CRT monitor
Windows XP Pro Service Pack 1
Dean66 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.