IDE Layout - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-06-2005, 07:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
willsko87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,240
Default IDE Layout

I tried searching TF but i couldnt find much but im getting a new HDD and I pressume that:

Primary
HDD 1
CD-RW (Primary Slave)

Secondary
HDD 2
DVD Drive (Secondary Slave)

would make HDD to HDD speed quicker than:

Primary
HDD 1
HDD 2 (Primary Slave)

Secondary
CD-RW
DVD Drive (Secondary Slave)

So what I am asking is that if I put the Hard Drives on the same IDE cable would it be quicker or slower for HDD to HDD speed if they were on separate IDE cable? Am I right?
Or doesnt it make much difference?

Thanks people
__________________

__________________
http://www.aflonline.com.au



willsko87 is offline  
Old 01-06-2005, 08:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 268
Default

The HDDs will not change speed, but having the DVD on a different drive from the CDRW will allow you to copy directly from one disc to another without having a tmp file stored on HDD. This makes disc duplication quicker.
__________________

__________________
jono199 is offline  
Old 01-06-2005, 08:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
willsko87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,240
Default

I know that the HDD's wont change speed, someone just told me that having them on separate cables would make coping files from HDD to HDD quicker as it goes straight to though the motherboard instead of having to go down the cable to the motherboard and back up again. I spose it wouldnt make much difference.
__________________
http://www.aflonline.com.au



willsko87 is offline  
Old 01-06-2005, 08:42 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

it won't make it faster or slower; however I would put the HDD's on one channel, and the CD/DVD drives on the other, so the cables in your case will be cleaner

transfer speed is as fast as the slowest device you are transferring to or from
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-06-2005, 08:54 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 268
Default

LOL yeah, thats one thing I never bother about, you should see inside my case, cables everywhich way.
__________________
jono199 is offline  
Old 01-06-2005, 08:57 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
willsko87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,240
Default

Yeah i made sure the i got a 7200rpm like my original one. thanks mate
__________________
http://www.aflonline.com.au



willsko87 is offline  
Old 01-06-2005, 11:57 AM   #7 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

I am sure you can copy directly from disc1 to disc2 with the second config.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 01-06-2005, 12:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 431
Default

I always put my cd drives on the second channel, copying from disc to disc goes fine like TheMajor says
__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
MasterJason is offline  
Old 01-06-2005, 12:03 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 595
Send a message via AIM to Roshi229 Send a message via Yahoo to Roshi229
Default

like it was said before, IDE is only as fast as it's weakest component, therefore if you put a cd rom on the same cable as your HDD it will slow it down. but if you put both HDD's on one cable and the DVD and CDR on another cable, it will keep the HD faster, but may slow down the DVD a bit. personally, i have my removable storage on one, and HDD on the other and have no problems copying disk to disk. in any situation if both HDD are on one cable you will not notice any speed changes. however if you put them with a new DVD burner, the DVD burner may or may not be as fast, anyway i'm starting to repeat myself, you get the point.
__________________
http://www.kbdigisol.com

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search first, ask later!\"></form>
powered by emily .
Roshi229 is offline  
Old 01-06-2005, 12:07 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
willsko87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,240
Default

thanks heaps guys...thats how i have it atm. HDD on primary and CD-R and DVD Drive on the Secondary so ill just slave the new 80GB off the original 40GB
__________________

__________________
http://www.aflonline.com.au



willsko87 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.