I need some help ! ! ! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-16-2004, 09:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 485
Send a message via ICQ to Hinrichisgod Send a message via AIM to Hinrichisgod
Default I need some help ! ! !

Okay here's my deal. I just got this computer that I got from a friend, and put in a new HDD, 512 MB of SDRAM, and some other stuff. I'm planning on putting in a new video card too. But the problem is, I have no idea if my video card slot is AGP or PCI.

I have a Compaq 7000Z series desktop if that helps.

And if I do have a PCI slot, which I know sucks really bad compared to the AGP at least, is there any way I can still use an AGP video card since they are the best? Or am I SOOL.

Thanks alot,

- John
__________________

__________________
My System Specs:
Raidmax Scorpio 868 with 420w psu
Intel Pentium-4 Processor 3.0ghz CPU
512K Cache, 800MHz FSB, Hyper Threading Ready
Cooler Master Jet 4
Albatron PX865PE PRO II i865PE Chipset
512 MB Dual Channel [256MB X2] DDR-400 PC3200
ATI Radeon 9600 Pro @ 438/243
Sound Blaster Live! 24 bit advanced HD
Maxtor 120 GB - 7200 RPM
Seagate 80 GB - 7200 RPM
16x DVD 52X32X52 cd-rw
Cooler Master Musketeer System Controller
Logitech MX Duo
Rock Chalk Jayhawk
Hinrichisgod is offline  
Old 02-16-2004, 10:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 548
Send a message via AIM to aye29 Send a message via Yahoo to aye29
Default

Do you have an integrated video card on your motherboard? If so then you probably don't have an AGP slot. And you can't use an AGP vidoe card unless you have an AGP slot.
__________________

aye29 is offline  
Old 02-16-2004, 10:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 287
Default

Go into Devise manager.Look in System manager.If you dont see something saying AGP controller you dont got one.

Say you got 5 pci slots.The AGP will be the top one with a little locking tab on the end.Usualy it is a differnt color then the PCi slot's.

On this picture the AGP is brown and at the top of 5 pci slot's

http://www.abit-usa.com/products/mb/...es=1&model=130
Deadguy is offline  
Old 02-16-2004, 10:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 485
Send a message via ICQ to Hinrichisgod Send a message via AIM to Hinrichisgod
Default

god...yes its an integrated video card. Just my %*&#@&*( luck. So are there any good PCI cards that I could buy? If there are, where can I buy them. I'm looking to start playing Everquest as soon as I can get one.
__________________
My System Specs:
Raidmax Scorpio 868 with 420w psu
Intel Pentium-4 Processor 3.0ghz CPU
512K Cache, 800MHz FSB, Hyper Threading Ready
Cooler Master Jet 4
Albatron PX865PE PRO II i865PE Chipset
512 MB Dual Channel [256MB X2] DDR-400 PC3200
ATI Radeon 9600 Pro @ 438/243
Sound Blaster Live! 24 bit advanced HD
Maxtor 120 GB - 7200 RPM
Seagate 80 GB - 7200 RPM
16x DVD 52X32X52 cd-rw
Cooler Master Musketeer System Controller
Logitech MX Duo
Rock Chalk Jayhawk
Hinrichisgod is offline  
Old 02-16-2004, 10:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 485
Send a message via ICQ to Hinrichisgod Send a message via AIM to Hinrichisgod
Default

lol where do I find the device manager?
__________________
My System Specs:
Raidmax Scorpio 868 with 420w psu
Intel Pentium-4 Processor 3.0ghz CPU
512K Cache, 800MHz FSB, Hyper Threading Ready
Cooler Master Jet 4
Albatron PX865PE PRO II i865PE Chipset
512 MB Dual Channel [256MB X2] DDR-400 PC3200
ATI Radeon 9600 Pro @ 438/243
Sound Blaster Live! 24 bit advanced HD
Maxtor 120 GB - 7200 RPM
Seagate 80 GB - 7200 RPM
16x DVD 52X32X52 cd-rw
Cooler Master Musketeer System Controller
Logitech MX Duo
Rock Chalk Jayhawk
Hinrichisgod is offline  
Old 02-17-2004, 08:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 287
Default

If you got Xp click on my computer.View system information.Hardware tab. Devise manager.System Devises.

If 95 or 98 goign from ancient memories. Left click on My computer and i think choose properties.
Deadguy is offline  
Old 02-18-2004, 10:10 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 205
Default

http://www.amamax.com/ge56pciwdddv.html
This is the best PCI card you can buy, the FX 5600. They unfortunatly did not make a PCI GF4 card, otherwise that would probably be better. Stay away from the MX cards if you can, the performance in games is poor.
__________________

__________________
Shuttle XPC SB61G2
P4 2.8 800 Mhz FSB
1024 Dual channel DDR400
ATI AIW 9700 Pro
120 GB Maxtor SATA
Lite-On 411S DVD+-R/RW
Logitech Elite Duo wireless KB/Mouse
nvalhalla is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.