Hyper-transport - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-25-2007, 09:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Corn Kingdom, IL
Posts: 24
Send a message via AIM to troubl3dmind
Default Hyper-transport

I have a question about hyper transport speed. If i get a processor that can hyper transport at 2000 Mhz, is this because of dual core? Do i need a motherboard that supports hyper transport at 2000 mhz to get the full speed of the cpu? Most of the motherboard i am looking at ( 70-100 dollars) only say they hyper transport at 1000 mhz. Will this make a difference? Thanks in advance for any help.
__________________

troubl3dmind is offline  
Old 09-28-2007, 05:11 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default Re: Hyper-transport

1000MHZ = actual and as Athlon is DDR, so it makes 1000MHz x 2 = 2000MHz

understood? whatever you are buying, telling its 1000MHz is actually 2000. Go for it!
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Safest way to transport hard drives Kray Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 10 08-21-2007 10:57 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.