How's this sound - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-09-2004, 04:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 88
Send a message via AIM to ccskorn
Default How's this sound

ok, i've made some changes to the computer setup I want. I've decided on a 2600+ Athlon Mobile XP that I will eventually overclock, but at first run at normal speeds. I just want to know if the RAM I have chosen will be good for overclocking this particular setup. Also will the heatsink/fan I chose work good? Here's a link to my newegg wishlist, here.
__________________

__________________
My Rig
- Antec Sonata Case w/ 460w Enermax Whisper II PSU
- Abit NF7-M Motherboard
- AMD XP 2500+ Barton w/ Thermaltake Silentboost HS/F
- 1GB PC3200 Corsair XMS Series
- Geforce 6800
- 80GB Western Digital Special Edition
- NEC DVD+-RW Drive
- Windows XP Pro
ccskorn is offline  
Old 06-09-2004, 09:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 694
Default

where's your graphics card? Are you planning on using the on-board video?

Why do you want to overclock if web surfing and starcraft is all you want to do?

To answer your question, PC 2700 RAM runs at 333MHz, your FSB speed is at 266MHz. So that RAM will be able to handle the speed if your able to overclock the FSB. Also, you might want to check ABIT's website to check cmpatibility issues with your chosen RAM module.

Heatsink looks fine to me.
__________________

__________________
Lian Li Aluminum Case
Intel D975XBXK2R Mobo
Core 2 Duo E6700 CPU
EVGA 8800 GTS Video Card
Corsair XMS 2 x 1gig RAM
Zalman 9500 CPU cooler
hercules_upw is offline  
Old 06-09-2004, 11:22 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 49
Default

Actually a 2600+ runs at 333, same as your PC2700 RAM. So overclocking will not be possible. And just a heads up ta Windows XP does suggest that you have a 500Mhz or better. So if you encounter any weird OS problems, your CPU might be the cause.
__________________
- Intel 2.8E @ 3.36GHz
- Asus P4P800-E DLX
- 4X512MB (2Gig) Crucial PC3200
- ATI 9600 All-In-Wonder
- RAID card for extra IDE channels
- 120G Western Digital SATA for Windows
- 120G IDE Western Digital Hard Drive
- 80G IDE Maxtor Hard Drive
- Pioneer 107D DVD burner
- LG CDRW/DVD Combo
- Audigy 2 ZS Platinum
- Logitech Z680 speakers
- Thermaltake Xavier II Full Tower
- Thermaltake PurePower 480W ps
- Logitech MX Duo combo wireless keyboard/mouse
- Sharp 17\" LCD monitor
c_ro11 is offline  
Old 06-09-2004, 12:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 694
Default

He has a Mobile processor, it's FSB runs at 266MHz. The standard Barton runs at 333MHz. Look at the list.
__________________
Lian Li Aluminum Case
Intel D975XBXK2R Mobo
Core 2 Duo E6700 CPU
EVGA 8800 GTS Video Card
Corsair XMS 2 x 1gig RAM
Zalman 9500 CPU cooler
hercules_upw is offline  
Old 06-09-2004, 12:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 319
Send a message via AIM to Wartorment
Default

So which is better for overclocking? My current or the mobile?
Wartorment is offline  
Old 06-09-2004, 01:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 694
Default

My personal opinoin is that the mobile chip is better.

keep in mind that i personally, have not done a lot of research on the mobile. But it looks like there are a lot of people overclocking the $h*t out of them. (up past 3200+ speeds)

ccskorn- in light of my reading up alittle bit on the mobile processor, i would recommend that you go for some PC3200 RAM. It looks like a lot of people are overclocking their processors to 200*12 or better. if you're able to get the FSB to 200, you'll be able to utilize all 400MHz of PC3200 RAM. PC3200 may cost a little more now but it's cheaper than buying PC2700 then upgrading to the PC3200 later.
__________________
Lian Li Aluminum Case
Intel D975XBXK2R Mobo
Core 2 Duo E6700 CPU
EVGA 8800 GTS Video Card
Corsair XMS 2 x 1gig RAM
Zalman 9500 CPU cooler
hercules_upw is offline  
Old 06-09-2004, 02:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 340
Default

strange system, why on this stupid earth would any gamer use IGP video
__________________
I wish I had a computer but I am broke!!!
AndrewtheGreat is offline  
Old 06-09-2004, 02:44 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 88
Send a message via AIM to ccskorn
Default

the only reason I'm getting the board with onboard video is so I can use the computer while saving up for a good graphics card
__________________
My Rig
- Antec Sonata Case w/ 460w Enermax Whisper II PSU
- Abit NF7-M Motherboard
- AMD XP 2500+ Barton w/ Thermaltake Silentboost HS/F
- 1GB PC3200 Corsair XMS Series
- Geforce 6800
- 80GB Western Digital Special Edition
- NEC DVD+-RW Drive
- Windows XP Pro
ccskorn is offline  
Old 06-09-2004, 05:05 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 88
Send a message via AIM to ccskorn
Default

also, I'm not going to just play starcraft, I want to play farcry, unreal tournament, half-life 2, doom 3, battlefield vietnam.... I feel like I've been deprived
__________________

__________________
My Rig
- Antec Sonata Case w/ 460w Enermax Whisper II PSU
- Abit NF7-M Motherboard
- AMD XP 2500+ Barton w/ Thermaltake Silentboost HS/F
- 1GB PC3200 Corsair XMS Series
- Geforce 6800
- 80GB Western Digital Special Edition
- NEC DVD+-RW Drive
- Windows XP Pro
ccskorn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.