how many fans in your case is considered overkill? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-15-2004, 03:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 275
Default how many fans in your case is considered overkill?

so i have...

2 80mm intake fans on the rear of the case

1 120mm fan in front

1 fan blowing out on the side

1 pci slot blow fan underneath my AGP card

( i won't count the fan on the VGA card, PSU fan, and the CPU/heatsink fan)

and yes, there's even room for 1 more fan on the top of the case.

should i even bother putting one there, i pretty much said goodbye to a completely quiet system.

sounds like a 747 about to take off everytime i turn it on. : )

what advantages (if any) does having a fan on top of the case have?

should it be blowing in OR blowing out OR not at all?

and to be honest my mobo and CPU really does not seem like it's any cooler than when i had NO fans on my last case.

thanks peeps.
__________________

__________________
\"I am not young enough to know everything.\" - Oscar Wilde
EdoKoi is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 04:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

you want overkill? OOOOOOOHHHHH Nubius......tell this huy how many u have!!!
__________________

jaksback is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 04:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 595
Send a message via AIM to Roshi229 Send a message via Yahoo to Roshi229
Default

he he, put one in.. and two more on the side, another on the top and back to be safe...
__________________
http://www.kbdigisol.com

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search first, ask later!\"></form>
powered by emily .
Roshi229 is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 04:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

I've got 10 case fans, 1 on the CPU and 2 in the PSU.

2 80mm's in the front
2 stacked 80mms in the rear
1 120mm on the top
1 80mm on the top
1 Jet blower on the left side
1 jet blower on the right side
1 80mm on the bottom right.
1 Fan under my graphics card (made my own PCI Fan)
1 80mm Vantec Tornado for the CPU

1 80mm and 1 90mm in the PSU

I believe that's all of them



You can't see the other blower on the other side but you get the idea. It was quite the 'interesting' mod job
Nubius is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 04:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 595
Send a message via AIM to Roshi229 Send a message via Yahoo to Roshi229
Default

um, i know what i want for X-mas....
__________________
http://www.kbdigisol.com

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search first, ask later!\"></form>
powered by emily .
Roshi229 is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 04:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 887
Default

747 indeed. damn just look at that thing yo, unbelievable. post some more pics please nubius, i wanna see that.

i have 1 intake and 1 exhaust fan.
xotix is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 04:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 275
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
I've got 10 case fans, 1 on the CPU and 2 in the PSU.

2 80mm's in the front
2 stacked 80mms in the rear
1 120mm on the top
1 80mm on the top
1 Jet blower on the left side
1 jet blower on the right side
1 80mm on the bottom right.
1 Fan under my graphics card (made my own PCI Fan)
1 80mm Vantec Tornado for the CPU

1 80mm and 1 90mm in the PSU

I believe that's all of them



You can't see the other blower on the other side but you get the idea. It was quite the 'interesting' mod job
HAHA!!! that's awesome!

no way your neighbors can't hear that thing across the street!

but the true question is............

does it actually keep your CPU cool??!!

great shot though, *i get the idea*

now if i can only find that one picture of this modded comp case.

this guy made...a complete computer case entirely of Fans, like 50 fans or something! even had to get a second PSU to keep it running! i gotta find the pic and post for ya.
__________________
\"I am not young enough to know everything.\" - Oscar Wilde
EdoKoi is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 05:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 268
Default

Jesh, i've only got 6x80mms, 2x jet blower things and 1x92mm

9 fans in all. But my CPU runs at 20degrees so im happy with it.
__________________
jono199 is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 05:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
does it actually keep your CPU cool??!!
Yeah, it not only keeps the CPU cool it keeps the entire system cool since I have pretty good airflow. The Room I'm in is around 75F and my case will always remain at 20C. My CPU always remains in the 30's celsius and will only go into the 40's if A) I don't turn my CPU fan up all the way and atleast put one of the side blowers on half, or B) If it's just really hot in the room or something.

And you can see my Vcore and clockspeed below so yeah this case cools my CPU more than adequately. I was able to boot up to 2.8GHz on this machine and temperature was never a problem. My board simply couldn't give it enough volts (it was already hittin 2.225!) so yeah, mainboard couldn't take the OC.

It is pretty loud. The tornado predominately makes the most noise.




The wiring is a mess...I spent like an hour trying to clean it up and that's as good as it's going to get.
Nubius is offline  
Old 12-15-2004, 06:32 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 589
Send a message via AIM to GeckoEcho421 Send a message via Yahoo to GeckoEcho421
Default

THE MOST IMPORTANT FAN IN YOUR CASE IS THE FAN THAT BLOWS AIR OUT THE TOP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Btw, heat rises...
__________________

__________________
If you ever have any questions feel free to email me at dhughes3@gmail.com, I will send you back an email as soon as possible.
<table width=\"100%\" border=\"3\" align=\"default\" cellpadding=\"3\" cellspacing=\"2\" bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"left\"></div><div align=\"left\"><font size=\"2\"><strong><font color=\"brown\" size=\"2\"><marquee behavior=\"alternate\" width=100%><b><font color=#43525F size=\"2\">Goo g l e ||G o o gl e ||G o o gl e</font></b></marquee></font></strong></font></div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><font size=\"1\"><b><font color=#43525F>Mobo: </font></b><font size=\"1\">MSI \"K8N Neo2 Platinum\" <b><font color=#43525F>Chipset: </font></b>nForce3 ULTRA <b><font color=#43525F>CPU: </font></b>AMD Athlon 64 3500+ (Socket 939) <b><font color=#43525F>Physical memory:</font></b> Corsair XMS 1GB(512MBx2) 2-2-2-5 <b><font color=#43525F>Videocard:</font></b> eVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6800 GT<b><font color=#43525F> Soundcard:</font></b> Creative Audigy 2 </font></font><font color=#43525F size=\"1\"><b>Currently running: </font></b><font size=\"1\">XP Pro SP2 </td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\">How much PSU power is enough? </div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\"><a href=\"http://whatpulse.org/stats/users/142979/\"><img src=\"http://whatpulse.afraid.org/sig/GeckoEcho421.png\" border=\"0\"></a></div></td></tr></table>
GeckoEcho421 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.