How to install XP? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-11-2003, 05:53 AM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 62
Default

i already have xp on my other HD does it matter if i use the same OS for the new one. Cos they both have the same key and i though this may pose a problem when i activate XP
__________________

Rhys is offline  
Old 08-11-2003, 07:30 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 13
Send a message via AIM to Dude521
Default

Recommended Boot List
1 - Floopy
2 - CD-ROM
3- IDE 0

when intsalling OS, Hard drives, Etc.....
__________________

Dude521 is offline  
Old 08-13-2003, 01:10 AM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 22
Default

try put the cd in then type the drive where u put the cd in then type setup it should start the disc
snowball is offline  
Old 08-13-2003, 12:42 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 66
Default

it doesn't work on all bioss:
put the CD in and hit F12 on startup.

I hope this works...
__________________
Da //FRAG-clan is da best!

ahum...
yoran is offline  
Old 08-14-2003, 02:19 AM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 62
Default

In the new HD is it possible to access the old HD through My Computer?
Rhys is offline  
Old 08-14-2003, 09:47 AM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dethangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 934
Default

yes, windows will configure it, but you have to set the one with your os up as primary (master) and the storage one as slave
dethangel is offline  
Old 08-16-2003, 07:15 AM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

i think your windows XP CD as long as it's a retail version is legitimate for up to 3 computers in your home
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 08-16-2003, 07:17 AM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

but you'd better check with Microsoft just in case
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.