How can I know... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-20-2005, 06:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2
Question How can I know...

hello all

How can i know if im running a 32 bit or 64 bit processor?

and how can i know the brand of the motherboard of my PC?

thanks in advance.
__________________

alkindyss is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 07:46 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

It will be on CPU-Z, get it from www.cpuid.com

If you told us your processor, than we will know as it is mentioned in the name e.g. AMD 64 or 6** and above for intel.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 09:25 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2
Default

okay here are the proccessor information:

Intel Pentium M proccessor 1.60GHZ
Family 6 Model D Stepping 6

can you help me now find out if im running 32 or 64?
alkindyss is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 09:27 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 530
Send a message via AIM to TheHeadFL
Default

Thats a 32 bit piece.

Even if you had a 64 bit processor, you're still running in 32 bit anyway, since you'd have to know if you were running a 64 bit os. For instance, my Windows XP startup tells me specifically that I am running the x64 edition.
__________________
Desktop machine: 2 x Opteron 246, Asus K8N-DL, 2GB PC3200 ECC Reg., XFX GeForce 6600GT, 74gb WD Raptor, 2 x 19\" LCDs, Windows XP x64
Server machine: Intel P4 3.0GHz 2MB EM64T, ECS i865pe, 1GB PC3200, 36gb WD Raptor, Windows Server 2003
Laptop: Dell Inspiron 9100 (Intel P4 3.2GHz 1MB Prescott, i865pe, 512MB PC3200, Mobility Radeon 9700, DVD+R/DL Burner), Windows XP
Linux: P3 450Mhz, 386MB ram, Slackware 10.1 (Running mySQL/Apache)
TheHeadFL is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 09:39 AM   #5 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

^aggree'd
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 07-20-2005, 09:56 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

It's 32
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.