Help with video card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-01-2005, 07:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 71
Default Help with video card

Hello, I shipped out a video card to someone and it was in good packaging and he said that when he puts it in pink lines go up and down his screen. What could be the problem?
__________________

Abercrombie is offline  
Old 08-01-2005, 07:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

Wow thats wierd. it must be the card or the monitor.
__________________

__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 08-01-2005, 07:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

sounds like a bad connection between the card and monitor somewhere... I have some TV's that do that with my PS2 because of the bad connection it has. If I wiggle it just right, it works again. Sounds like a kinked or worn cable.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 08-01-2005, 07:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 487
Default

What GPU is this?

My first guess is that it is a heat problem.

Tell him to try different drivers if the drivers don't change situation at least you know it isn't caused by drivers.

If the GPU worked perfectly fine in your PC before it is most likely not a defected GPU unless it could damage somehow during shipping.

Ask him to plug the GPU in another PC. If it works perfectly fine in the other PC it could be a mobo problem.

Honestly though like I said I think it is a heat problem especially when the corruption only starts during certain apps like games which could stress out GPUs. If it happens all the time it could be defected GPU. RMA it.
hu_xu is offline  
Old 08-01-2005, 07:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 71
Default

Here he sent me a screanshot heres a link to it
http://img300.imageshack.us/my.php?image=desktop0kh.jpg
Abercrombie is offline  
Old 08-01-2005, 07:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 487
Default

What GPU is it?

EDIT: What is his PSU? Include wattage.
hu_xu is offline  
Old 08-01-2005, 07:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

That looks like a driver issue to me. It also looks like he's running in (Med 16bit) instead of (High 32bit).
HAVOC is offline  
Old 08-01-2005, 08:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by HAVOC2k5
That looks like a driver issue to me. It also looks like he's running in (Med 16bit) instead of (High 32bit).
I doubt it. the bit resolution on the card shold not produce the artifacts. If the card's circuit face or agp pins were touched wihtout rubber gloves or some kind of static protection....ouch...it's a frisby. If it has been overclocked, the oc'ing needs to be backed off to eliminate the artifacts. I doubt it's drivers...looks like something pretty yucky like a now bad video card!! But anything is possible I suppose???
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 08-01-2005, 08:24 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 71
Default

its a 9800pro and il lask him what psu he has.
Abercrombie is offline  
Old 08-01-2005, 09:34 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 487
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Abercrombie
its a 9800pro and il lask him what psu he has.
Yeah the reason why I asked you that is because I suspected it was a 9800 pro because I have seen this exact thing happen to them.

Usually it's a PSU issue. It's not necessarily that the PSU is too weak or a bad brand because I have known people to change their PSU to one that is weaker and have all those problems go away. Another thing could be heat. Use ATI tool to see how hot the 9800 Pro but since the image you gave showed pink dots out of a game...did he just exit a game?...I don't think it is heat. The cooling on the 9800 Pro is modest at best.

Also try turning things like Fast Write off in the CCC or ATI control center. Lower the hardware acceleration.
__________________

hu_xu is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.