Help me out with RAM - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-04-2005, 02:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 34
Default Help me out with RAM

A friend of mine has a Dell Dimension 4550 with a 256 DDR SDRAM chip in there and I want to get her another 256 chip. My only question involves PC speed. What's in there right now is either PC2100 or PC2700, and I was looking at a compatible Corsair 256 chip that is PC3200. It's only $20, and I know that the RAM will only run as fast as it's slowest chip, but could having a PC3200 in there with say a PC2100 cause any problems with speed or something else?

SECOND question: How can I find out what brands are good for RAM? I know some are pretty junky, but some are also way overpriced. What's a good way to find a safe middle ground?

THIRD question: Is it ok to mix brands with RAM, or would I be better off replacing my friends' RAM entirely instead of mixing a Dell with a Corsair, for example.

Thanks! J
__________________

kaazmar is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 02:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

1)You shouldnt have any problems mixing the 2 different speeds of ram.

2)Corsair, Crucial, Kingston, OCZ to name a few

3)It is ok to mix brands.
__________________

__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 02:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 577
Send a message via ICQ to Kadahaf Send a message via AIM to Kadahaf
Default

but if the origional one is 2100 and your new one is 3200 it will down clock to 2100 speeds or 266mhz/133mhz
__________________
Because people hate searching.
Best ram guide.
Different cpu types.
Good video card guide
Kadahaf is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 02:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

You will be A.OK.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 03:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 577
Send a message via ICQ to Kadahaf Send a message via AIM to Kadahaf
Default

I believe all lower brand dells have 2700 speed not 2100
__________________
Because people hate searching.
Best ram guide.
Different cpu types.
Good video card guide
Kadahaf is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 05:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 34
Default

Ok, thanks, that is what I thought. Thanks for the clarification, guys.

J
kaazmar is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 05:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

anytime
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 05:44 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Kadahaf
I believe all lower brand dells have 2700 speed not 2100
Mine is old and it's 2100...
__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 05:45 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 34
Default

You guys know anything about wireless USB adapters? What's the difference between the USB 1.1 and 2.0 ones? Would they affect internet connections? Or mainly the speed of inter-network file-sharing? I want to get a USB adapter for a newer computer on a Wireless-B network, and wasn't sure if I'd notice a lack of speed/quality with a USB 1.1 adapter versus a 2.0 adapter when using cable internet.

Thanks, J
kaazmar is offline  
Old 05-04-2005, 06:19 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

www.crucial.com

my friend got ram for his HP there

just select your model name
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.