Help!!! assembling a computer... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-05-2004, 09:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 8
Unhappy Help!!! assembling a computer...

hi,

I am putting together a computer and I am having a little problem.
I have a asus A7n8x-x mobo, 512k ram, ati 9600 video c., i put in my hd from my other computer already with a OS, everything seems to be in place but when I turn it on there is nothing. There is only a green led light on the motherboard that lights up.
I wounder if it is the power supply (Axio case). all the pieces are new.

please help!!!
__________________

mario333 is offline  
Old 03-05-2004, 10:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 8
Default

no there is no beeps, no fan, only a green light on the mobo that lights up.
__________________

mario333 is offline  
Old 03-05-2004, 10:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Not A Super Techie
 
straightv6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 496
Default

i'm in the process of building my computer too and i just found out i had one of the screws tightened too much and it was shorting something out. i loosened the screw and now my fans turn on but i don't get any output, thats another thread though
also check on how you have the power switch hooked up
__________________
1 fast and 1 slow
straightv6 is offline  
Old 03-06-2004, 12:37 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

does the mobo give enough space between the circuits and the screws?
have you set all the jumpers correctly?
does the PC work without the old hard drive in it?
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-06-2004, 12:42 AM   #5 (permalink)
XT
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 788
Default

A crap psu wll do that on you. It is possable your wires are in backwards or even not at all. Double check eveything
XT is offline  
Old 03-06-2004, 12:57 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

what is the brand and power output of your PSU?
if getting a new one, Antec would be the one to get.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-06-2004, 01:09 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 7
Default

Hello Mario,

Just check out if you have fixed memory properly.

Best way to check out yr system is. Unassemble every thing.

1. Take the board out.
2. Put only cpu, Display card & memory.
3. connect SMPS leads on motherboard.
4. Connect system speaker. Plugin monitor.
5. Boot the system.
6. If every thing is ok you should see atleast bios disply and initial
screen.
7. Donr worry abot disk boot failure message.
8. Now take all this and fit in cabinet. and check.
9. If all ok add more part like fdd then hdd one by one. This way
you will find out what is wrong where.
If you dont see display or hear beep, means you have some
shorting in cabinet as straightv6 has mentioned above.
Remove all the screws on mb and test. Screws are the link to
short. If you have some fiber washer put them on mb and then
fix screw. If you dont have then use some paper as di-electric
material between mb and screw. This should do the trick.
10. If you get display and boot screen you can open your drink.

Good luck.
apoorva is offline  
Old 03-06-2004, 07:45 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

while your at it study up on How to build a Computer
__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 03-06-2004, 08:09 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 8
Default

hi

I have a 480W axio case (power supply) amd 2500+ cpu,
ati 9600, 512 ddr memory.
mario333 is offline  
Old 03-06-2004, 08:28 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 8
Default

I unpluged all the parts, including the mobo and i put in a fan
just to see if the power supply works and nothing happened.
__________________

mario333 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.