having problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread

Old 10-13-2003, 08:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie

Default having problems

Hello, I am playing with a 1999 pionex computer that died. first the hard drive died so I put in a used one, then while trying to install windows98 the cd drive died, so I put one of those in, Then it started to install windows and stopped to run scan disk, It said something about missing or bad sectors, so I F disked it and formated it again and then it says something about memory problem, then it ended up with no moniter and it would just make a long beep and the power botton don't work, I have to unplug it to shut it down, Is the mother board dead now to?It has a M5ALA with AMD-K6-2/400AFQ. I am just learning computer stuff so don't get to technical on me lol. Thanks, TomW

Old 10-13-2003, 09:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Older But Wiser

Dude no offense, But ya need a new PC

ASUS GeForce 760 GTX

1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
Old 10-13-2003, 10:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie

We have a new PC, I am just playing with the old one to try and learn about how things work. I got all the stuff used for real cheap so far, I won't put much money into it, like I said just a rainy day project. TomW
Old 10-14-2003, 06:50 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie

Thanks microbell, The board is all the same as it came in the machine. I will check that out. Is it possible that the used hard drive I used has a virus in it and is causing all the problems? Or will Fdisk and format get rid of everything on the drive? Thanks, TomW
Old 10-14-2003, 07:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie