Hard Drive, Win XP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-21-2003, 10:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 5
Send a message via AIM to TheDerek
Default Hard Drive, Win XP

I'm running a Dell Demension 8200 and i have a 120 gig hard drive. My problem is I need to install another hard drive (60 gig) on windows xp. the new one already has stuff on it so i can't format it, but how do i make windows assign it a drive letter and let me access it. windows already detects it but i don't know how to access it, please help me.
__________________

TheDerek is offline  
Old 06-22-2003, 01:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 94
Send a message via AIM to nastrodamus Send a message via Yahoo to nastrodamus
Default

TheDerek.......

I have a questions.....

1. Is the new hard drive partitioned and formated???

If not, there in lies your problem. Windows Xp will automatically assign the drive a letter as long as it is accessible.

There are several utilities that can be used to to do both. The most popular are Fdisk and Partition Magic . Acquire these titles and can try them.....

Becareful.....do not do anything to your C:

If you have acquired the suggested software and need help come back here and ask ok..

I'm out for now.



Nastrodamus
At your service.
__________________

__________________
Wisdom is knowledge being put to use. Are you putting to use what you know?
nastrodamus is offline  
Old 06-23-2003, 10:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 5
Send a message via AIM to TheDerek
Default

Yes it is formated and partitioned with 3 partitions 20 gig each.
TheDerek is offline  
Old 06-23-2003, 11:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
<a href="http://www.tech-forums.net/pc/f109/folding-home-guide-223396/" target="_blank"><img src="http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/4127/110ad0n.png" /></a>
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,765
Send a message via ICQ to Ecniv Send a message via AIM to Ecniv Send a message via Yahoo to Ecniv
Default

If it was done correctly windows xp would automatically find it and make each formated partition into a seperate drive letter.
__________________
\"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I\'m not sure about the former.\"- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Ecniv is offline  
Old 06-24-2003, 10:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 5
Send a message via AIM to TheDerek
Default

it was because ive use and saved very important files on it, then installed it into a different machine and now it doesn't work
TheDerek is offline  
Old 06-24-2003, 10:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
<a href="http://www.tech-forums.net/pc/f109/folding-home-guide-223396/" target="_blank"><img src="http://img190.imageshack.us/img190/4127/110ad0n.png" /></a>
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,765
Send a message via ICQ to Ecniv Send a message via AIM to Ecniv Send a message via Yahoo to Ecniv
Default

Make sure you have the drive jumper settings set correctly. If the windows xp drive is set as primary master you would want the second one set as secondary master
__________________
\"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I\'m not sure about the former.\"- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Ecniv is offline  
Old 06-27-2003, 09:17 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 5
Send a message via AIM to TheDerek
Default

Alright, hang on, by secondary master you mean master also or slave, because its currently set on slave for the new one, master for the old one. sorry to be such a pest with this issue its just i really need this to work.
TheDerek is offline  
Old 07-01-2003, 09:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 584
Default

Also check the disk management panel under computer management to see if there is anything substantial under there.

May or may not be relevant, but something to check if all else is set correctly.
__________________
A+ Core Hardware, Software Certified (May 13 2005)
the new beast...

AMD Athlon XP 3200+ Barton running at 2.16 Ghz.
GeForce MX 4000 (mainly takes the load off the main system)
Creative Labs Audigy 24-bit sound.
Some Case from tigerdirect
512 MB Ultra DDR RAM.
80GB Seagate HDD
LiteOn CD-RW / DVD ROM drive.
currently looking at a litescribe drive at staples, due to its ability to label the CD shortly after being burned.
mrdinkel is offline  
Old 07-03-2003, 01:04 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

Also check that your cable isnt turned around backwards I know this soumds dumb but ive seen it happen. normally the side of the cable with the stripe is facing the side toward the power plug.unless it can only go one way then that wont be a problem.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 07-10-2003, 01:30 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 5
Send a message via AIM to TheDerek
Default

yeah, i've done both of those i can see it in disk managemant i just don't see it in My Computer
__________________

TheDerek is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.