Hard Drive Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-25-2004, 09:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4
Default Hard Drive Problem

I'm sorry if this is a simple problem but after going to friends and continually searching the internet, I still don't have a solution to my problem. If anyone could help me out on this, I'd be really grateful.

A while ago my friend reformatted my computer for me because it kept bugging out on me (he called it a hard format and had to d/l something from this site http://www.hgst.com). Since that time I've been missing a lot of space from my hard drive (this is the model http://www.hgst.com/hdd/desk/ds60gxp.htm and i run windows xp). The sticker on the hard drive says it has a capacity of 41 gigs, yet I'm only getting 31 gigs out of it. I realize that there should be some space missing, so maybe it's normal (in which case someone could just tell me and I'll be on my way), but it seems to me that missing 1/4 of your hard drive is a little much. I've tried reformatting the normal way and setup tells me my hard drive is only 338xx MB. Is there any way in which I can get some more space out of my hard drive?
__________________

ULTl2AMAN is offline  
Old 01-25-2004, 10:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 58
Send a message via Yahoo to rezurrectme
Default

what is your motherboard? Can you list your complete specs? Some motherboards cannot handle larger drives in which case, they use only that portion of hard drive that they could support. Flashing the Motherboard will the latest BIOS is the solution other than getting a new motherboard. In any case, pls post your complete specs so that more learned users and geeks can have a say. My two cents worth.
__________________

__________________
<html><body bgcolor=\"#EEF2F6\" text=\"#000000\" id=\"all\" leftmargin=\"0\" topmargin=\"0\" marginwidth=\"0\" marginheight=\"0\" rightmargin=\"0\" link=\"#000020\" vlink=\"#000020\" alink=\"#000020\">
<font face=tahoma, size=-1 color=903000>
<p align=justify>
ASUS A7N8X-X*AMD Athlon XP-2400+*512MB DDR PC3200 Memory*ATI Radeon 9200SE 128MB DDR*52X24X52 LG CD-RW*16X LG DVD-ROM*80GB WD 7200 / 8MB Cache*Onboard Realtek Sound*AOpen QF50C -Blue Beige*Yamaha YST-MS201 Speakers
*Samsung Syncmaster750s*Windows 2000 Professional (SP4)
rezurrectme is offline  
Old 01-25-2004, 10:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks for responding

These are the specs my bro gave me (he built it)

Asus K7M Rev 1.04
550 athlon slot A
256 pc100 sdram
40 gig western digital hd
ata66
tnt2 ultra
vid card
32megs
ULTl2AMAN is offline  
Old 01-25-2004, 11:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 58
Send a message via Yahoo to rezurrectme
Default

The first thing to try is flashing the BIOS with latest release from ASUS. Download the latest bios from their website. Also, here is a link to the manual for this mobo, it should help you http://www.asus.com/pub/asus/mb/slota/k7m/k7m-104.pdf

The manual will explain how to flash your bios.
__________________
<html><body bgcolor=\"#EEF2F6\" text=\"#000000\" id=\"all\" leftmargin=\"0\" topmargin=\"0\" marginwidth=\"0\" marginheight=\"0\" rightmargin=\"0\" link=\"#000020\" vlink=\"#000020\" alink=\"#000020\">
<font face=tahoma, size=-1 color=903000>
<p align=justify>
ASUS A7N8X-X*AMD Athlon XP-2400+*512MB DDR PC3200 Memory*ATI Radeon 9200SE 128MB DDR*52X24X52 LG CD-RW*16X LG DVD-ROM*80GB WD 7200 / 8MB Cache*Onboard Realtek Sound*AOpen QF50C -Blue Beige*Yamaha YST-MS201 Speakers
*Samsung Syncmaster750s*Windows 2000 Professional (SP4)
rezurrectme is offline  
Old 01-26-2004, 01:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

right click on the drive in my computer and tell me what the total disk space is. where did you see "338xx MB"?

also click start button> run and type "diskmgmt.msc" into run box. if you see unallocated space it means you have space available for partitioning and formatting.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 01-26-2004, 07:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4
Default

The x's in "338xx MB" are just variables because I could not remember the exact number. I saw this number in windows setup when the computer was being reformatted.

right-clicking My Computer shows that I have a capacity of 31.4 GB.

Running "diskmgmt.msc" shows that I have dont have any unallocated space. Does it matter if the file system is NTFS or FATsomething? Mines is NTFS.
ULTl2AMAN is offline  
Old 01-27-2004, 03:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4
Default

So yeh I flashed my bios the other day, but it didn't work. Are there any other probably solutions for this problem?
ULTl2AMAN is offline  
Old 01-27-2004, 03:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 22
Unhappy

bad news, I think your friend did a low level format. For those of you who don't know what that means, that means: Your harddrive is made up of clusters, sectors, and tracks. Each of these hold a certian amount information. When you format your HD, all the data is destroyed. When you low-level format it goes in and destroys all the clusters, tracks, and sectors. If you don't put it back correctly you will lose HD space.

In short your friend low-leveled formatted you and couldn't put it back to where it was.

Imaxle
__________________

Imaxle is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.