hard disk capacity - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-12-2004, 02:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2
Default hard disk capacity

hi,

i just recently bought a wetern digital 120gb with 8mb cache har disk. i plan on using it as an extra hard drive where i can store my mp3s and other stuff.

my problem is that i installed it today and i partitioned it but xp says that the maximum space on the hard disk is 111gb. so what happened to the other 9gb? i havn't installed any operating systems on it. so why can't i use the full 120gb capcacity?

another question what does the 8mb cache do? like does it make copying files faster?

thanks
__________________

chooken is offline  
Old 01-12-2004, 02:53 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

i forgot exactly.. the term, i think it's something like that's what it's sold as, but when you take 120gigabytes, that's the disk size, the size rounds to 111 erm... whatever, it's normal for that! i promiss!
__________________

Demalii is offline  
Old 01-12-2004, 02:55 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 590
Send a message via AIM to Shrapnill
Default

ya greedy bastich! (jokin)

Every hard drive is under its maximum capacity. Always. Mine reads at 117 no matter what.

Anyway, the cache makes accessing "recent" data faster.
__________________
System specs? Lets just get down to it people:

My penis is bigger than yours.
Shrapnill is offline  
Old 01-12-2004, 04:53 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2
Default

okay cool then thanks for clearing that up
chooken is offline  
Old 01-12-2004, 05:07 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

First thing u need to know is ..1MB=1024Kb .. n' not 1000kb..
So according to this .. ur 120Gb should have 1228800Kb.

Normally manufacturers sell the drive as 120GB .. but the have only 120,000,000,000 bytes.. Calculate this n' ur actual size of the drive would be 111.8GB ..

Got it
__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 01-12-2004, 09:03 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 247
Default

I have 3 of the same drive. And the Grand Total comes out to. 333gb. Yes as every one is saying there is nothing wrong except some marketing schemes.
__________________
Tech4hire

i am no lazier now than I was forty years ago, but that is because I reached the limit forty years ago. You can\'t go beyond possibility.
- Mark Twain
tech4hire is offline  
Old 01-12-2004, 01:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

actually you guys are half right, somebody tried calculating the 1000MB vs 1024MB rule and we found there are still missing some space after this. it was found after the fact that windows steals some of this drive space for itself and hides this allocated space from the user.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 01-12-2004, 01:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

ekÆsine .. I disagree .. this is not a windows issue .. even the size reported by the bios would not be the same ..

It's not OS dependant at all ..
The explanation i gave earlier is correct .. Trust me on this one mate
Peace
__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 01-13-2004, 01:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 303
Send a message via AIM to T1junkie
Default

I have a 80GB Maxtor HDD
and it formats to 76GB
I think it has somthing to do with NTFS
cus with a fat32 I had a little more space...
__________________
IBM/Lenovo T43 2687DSU
Pentium M 2.0Ghz
1024 MB (DDR2 SDRAM)
80 GB Ultra ATA, 5400 RPM
14.1\" LCD
Windows XP Pro
DVD-R
64MB ATI MOBILITY RADEON X300
Integrated 802.11A/B/G, Bluetooth, 10/100/1000 Eth.
T1junkie is offline  
Old 01-13-2004, 06:46 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 104
Default

formatting makes your drive a little smaller than it is, this occures on ALL hdds, on small harddrives such as my 20gb maxtor i get .5gb robbed from me. on large hdd like 120gb u get 9gb robbed from u.

they market one thing, but when u format u get less. cant believe u didnt know that.
__________________

Turbo-Athlon5 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.