Gateway Laptop Audio issues - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-02-2005, 12:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 188
Default Gateway Laptop Audio issues

Ok, this is my first post - bear with me:

Here's my problem. I have Gateway Laptop i've been working on that i just can't seem to figure out - there's no audio.

Running WinXP Pro, the XP drivers are installed and fuctioning correctly (according to windows) - checked all volume bars, sliders, dials ... everything! But still no audio.

I tried different applications like media player and winamp - but still no audio. I checked for a physical volume knob (like my toshiba has on the front) - nothing like that.

The customer says she was playing some music, plugged in a set of really old speakers and it just stopped.

Do you think it may be possible that the audio portion on the motherboard got fried because of the speakers? That's what it's all coming down to.

Any help and suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

htcs is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 04:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 589
Send a message via AIM to GeckoEcho421 Send a message via Yahoo to GeckoEcho421

Call Gateway.

If you ever have any questions feel free to email me at, I will send you back an email as soon as possible.
<table width=\"100%\" border=\"3\" align=\"default\" cellpadding=\"3\" cellspacing=\"2\" bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"left\"></div><div align=\"left\"><font size=\"2\"><strong><font color=\"brown\" size=\"2\"><marquee behavior=\"alternate\" width=100%><b><font color=#43525F size=\"2\">Goo g l e ||G o o gl e ||G o o gl e</font></b></marquee></font></strong></font></div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><font size=\"1\"><b><font color=#43525F>Mobo: </font></b><font size=\"1\">MSI \"K8N Neo2 Platinum\" <b><font color=#43525F>Chipset: </font></b>nForce3 ULTRA <b><font color=#43525F>CPU: </font></b>AMD Athlon 64 3500+ (Socket 939) <b><font color=#43525F>Physical memory:</font></b> Corsair XMS 1GB(512MBx2) 2-2-2-5 <b><font color=#43525F>Videocard:</font></b> eVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6800 GT<b><font color=#43525F> Soundcard:</font></b> Creative Audigy 2 </font></font><font color=#43525F size=\"1\"><b>Currently running: </font></b><font size=\"1\">XP Pro SP2 </td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\">How much PSU power is enough? </div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\"><a href=\"\"><img src=\"\" border=\"0\"></a></div></td></tr></table>
GeckoEcho421 is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 04:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 188

Out of warranty by 2 months - they're no help.
htcs is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:07 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.