flashing bios - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-28-2005, 02:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default flashing bios

is flashing your bios safe? ive heard that if you dont do it properly or if it hangs mid installation you can completly screw ur mobo. is there any risk involved at all if you have the correct bios version update?
__________________

joshd is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 03:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 112
Send a message via AIM to Cody
Default

As long as you got it from the manufacteur's website (of your mobo) it's safe, I do it a lot here at work with our older Dell machines and have not had 1 single problem. But yes, there is a risk if the power goes out or something like that, so don't do it during a thunderstorm :P
__________________

__________________
ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe Mobo
AMD Athlon XP 2800+
2 GB PC 3200 DUal-Channel
ATI Radeon 7500 (Omega driver)
2 x 120 GB Maxtor 7200
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Viewsonic 19\" CRT
WinXp Pro SP2
--------------------------------------------------
<a href=\"http://lantastic.techforums.info/\">The Gaming Forums</a>
Cody is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 03:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

i have a dell. if the power does go out, or if the flash does hang, what exactly happens to ur mobo? can you just try again, or is it new mobo time? i have a dell mobo, so i will be able to be fairly sure that i have the correct bios version if i get it from the dell site, i suppose? also is updating bios nessessary, or should i only do it if i have problems?
joshd is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 04:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 112
Send a message via AIM to Cody
Default

Do you have a Dell system or just the mobo?
I personally, after doing 10 million times, have yet to see it hang with a Dell system. Basically what it does, it checks your BIOS version, erases it and then programs it to the new version. If it erases it and then hangs, you'll need to get a new mobo. Yes, if you get it from the Dell site (guessing you have a dell system, you can go here ) and enter your serial number (located on the back), you will be able to select the BIOS upgrade.
Cody is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 04:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

You need to back up your current bios to floppy!!!!!!!!!! Then go to the website for your mobo and use their auto update software. If the bios update fails you will simply get a check sum error at cmos boot and you can reinstall the original bios at that time. generally, it works without a hitch........DO NOT ATTEMPT TO UPDATE YOUR BIOS WITHOUT BACKING UP THE CURRENT BIOS TO FLOPPY DISK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Or be prepared to update you computer with a new mobo and reinstall all your programs!!
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 04:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 112
Send a message via AIM to Cody
Default

The reason I failed to mention that is because Dell's BIOS update does that for you hehe
__________________
ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe Mobo
AMD Athlon XP 2800+
2 GB PC 3200 DUal-Channel
ATI Radeon 7500 (Omega driver)
2 x 120 GB Maxtor 7200
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Viewsonic 19\" CRT
WinXp Pro SP2
--------------------------------------------------
<a href=\"http://lantastic.techforums.info/\">The Gaming Forums</a>
Cody is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 04:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

If the BIOS wipes itself before something is their, it's bye bye for the BIOS chip

Than you need to get another BIOS chip or motherboard
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 04:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Ah, Dell. Just a matter of personal preference.....I'd perfer to have a stick in my groin than buy a Dell....but that's just me!
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 04:29 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 499
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by RicoDirenzo
Ah, Dell. Just a matter of personal preference.....I'd perfer to have a stick in my groin than buy a Dell....but that's just me!
Hmm... *weighs both of them carefully* that is a tough choice...

:freak:
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.democracynow.org\"><img src=\"http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y165/smileygladhands/linkbanner468x60.gif\" border=\"0\"></a>
\"All over the place, from the popular culture to the propaganda system, there is constant pressure to make people feel that they are helpless, that the only role they can have is to ratify decisions and to consume.\" -Noam Chomsky
smileygladhands is offline  
Old 06-28-2005, 04:32 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

LOL!!!!!!!!!!
__________________

__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.