"Fast Writes" Option - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-23-2004, 02:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default "Fast Writes" Option

Is it better to have "Fast Writes" enabled or disabled?
__________________

brinks is offline  
Old 09-23-2004, 03:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 515
Send a message via AIM to Nvidia fan boy
Default

Very true but a little performance diff is better than nuthing.
__________________

Nvidia fan boy is offline  
Old 09-23-2004, 05:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

If it was disabled by default, leave it off (unless you are certain that it is supported by your hardware).
ag3 is offline  
Old 09-23-2004, 05:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

yeah I've always kinda wondered what it was myself. Default 'Off' in my BIOS
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-23-2004, 06:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422
Default

Leave it off for stability purposes......... the performance difference is very negligible. Some graphics card BIOSes leave it off by default.
__________________
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Old 09-23-2004, 06:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

You only really get a maximum increase of ten percent (depending on hardware configurations).
ag3 is offline  
Old 09-23-2004, 08:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

I tried it and my speed on aquamark went down to only 18,000 and 18.02 fps.
__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Old 09-23-2004, 10:23 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

I tried to turn it off and it really hurt my Doom 3 performance.

P.S. This is my 1337th post, w00t, i'm 1337!
beedubaya is offline  
Old 09-24-2004, 04:47 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

lol beedub
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.