duel boot - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-25-2005, 04:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 878
Default duel boot

I have a duel boot system on one of my computers. It runs both red hat linux 8.0 and w2k server. Upon boot up, it always asks which system I want to access which is normal. The question I have is there away to switch the order in which they are listed? Currently, I have RH linux first and w2k second. I want to reverse it but I am not sure how. Is there a simple way to do this? If so, how? I appreciate any help.

TIA
__________________

24giovanni is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 05:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

Yes this is easily possible, you have to boot into Linux and edit the configuration file for your bootloader. I assume it's LILO or Grub. There is a graphical way of doing it in Mandrake, but I've never used Red Hat. You might get more help in the Linux forum.
__________________

__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 05:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

edit the boot.ini, by copying and pasting the Linux directory after the 'default='

so it will look something like this:
[boot loader]
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\Your Linux Folder
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\Windows="Micro soft Windows 2000 Proffessional"
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\Your Linux folder="whatever it is called"
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 06:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 878
Default

I am very new to linux so please bare with me. I have found the file called grub.conf. What do I do now please?
24giovanni is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 06:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 878
Default

All i need to know is how to cut and paste in vi. I see what you are talking about now,
24giovanni is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 06:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 878
Default

all set. please close thread.
24giovanni is offline  
Old 01-25-2005, 07:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
CntdwnToExtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Parents Basement...Still
Posts: 1,746
Send a message via MSN to CntdwnToExtn
Default

woudln't it of had just been easier to go to the startup/recovery option in windows?? unless server doesn't have it...then i'll shut up...
__________________

__________________
[110.7896] Getting up from chair
[112.8798] Walking to fridge
[118.5234] Opening Fridge
[119.1439] CntdwnToExtn panic - no beer: Fridge empty!


CntdwnToExtn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.