Dual FX-53's - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-19-2004, 10:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 462
Send a message via AIM to grego
Default Dual FX-53's

I found myself in a quandry the other day. I've been planning on going AMD when I buy my computer next summer, but I realised I want to have a comp thats good for video editing, too. So I thought, "Hmmm, maybe I should just stick with Intel?" I didn't want to give up an advantage in gaming though. Then it hit me. I hear most video editing programs support dual cpus. I'll run dual FX's! This will give me a top of the line gaming cpu, plus TWO solid cpus for video editing.

Now my question. Anyone know of any dual socket 939 boards? I've searched and haven't had much luck finding anything except 940's etc. I won't be buying (completing the system anyway) until next summer, but I just want to get an idea of prices right now. Thanks!
__________________

grego is offline  
Old 09-20-2004, 12:12 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7
Default

You would want the Opteron, not the FX. The Opteron is the same as an FX but it has dual proccessor support. It should give you all you want
__________________

efree58 is offline  
Old 09-20-2004, 12:19 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

if you can, try and get a dual opteron. ther most powerful is the 850, although that is frieken expensive, so the 844 or 846 will be a really good CPU to get
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 09-20-2004, 12:23 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

the good thing about the Opteron 84X-850 series is their quad processing ability, they do the same thing the P4's HT does, but instead of 2 virtual processors, it's 4. if you have a dual Opteron in this series, you have 8 virtual processors although only 2 physical.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 09-20-2004, 08:57 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 462
Send a message via AIM to grego
Default

I've heard socket-940 is on it's way out. From what I searched I see Opteron is a socket 940 cpu. Is it still?

Also, would dual fx-53's be possible?
__________________
Yes, but no sprinkles. For every sprinkle i find, i shall KILL you.
grego is offline  
Old 09-20-2004, 05:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 261
Default

dude... you have too much money to burn
dbernie41 is offline  
Old 09-20-2004, 05:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 462
Send a message via AIM to grego
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dbernie41
dude... you have too much money to burn
Hardly. I'll be making my system next summer before I go to college and I'd expect prices to drop on fx-53's by then. I don't want to go socket 940 partly because the RAM is much more expensive. I want a solid system that can meet my needs and demands. I dont see a point in dropping 1500 on a system that I'm soon going to need to start upgrading until it dies. I'd rather drop 2500 straight out and have PC that will beat the hell out of anything you throw at it now and last several years.
grego is offline  
Old 09-20-2004, 06:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

ehhh no computer will last 'several years'.....I think 2 years would be a good run for a computer...past that it starts to become quite obsolete.....lol kind of sad to think about. But yeah go with socket 939 cause atleast with that you know AMD will continue making chips for that socket and upgrading it.
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-20-2004, 09:42 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 462
Send a message via AIM to grego
Default

Heh, I think the Major will beg to differ with that, lol. I'm on a 733mhz PIII that my family purchased about 5 years ago if I remember correctly. 512mb ram and a radeon 8500LE and it runs pretty damn nice. Much faster for gaming than my friend's 1.8ghz P4 system. Main thing holding me back is this darn 56k, cant wait for college!!

ARE there any dual socket 939 boards that will support fx-53? I haven't found any. If there isn't, I'll probably just end up going single 53.
__________________
Yes, but no sprinkles. For every sprinkle i find, i shall KILL you.
grego is offline  
Old 09-20-2004, 09:48 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

the only dual motherboards for Athlon 64's and Opterons are in socket 940, a dual FX-53 is no exception
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.