Dual Channel Ram - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-27-2003, 04:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 21
Default Dual Channel Ram

i'm considering getting 512mb of pc2700 ddrsdram for gaming.
i was just wondering about getting 2x256 or 1x512mb?
which performs faster? and why is 2x256 more expensive campared to 1x512?
__________________

gammacrush2000 is offline  
Old 09-27-2003, 05:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 818
Default

well, your title and your question are two completely different things.

Dual channel RAM requires two matching sticks of RAM (2x256MB, for exmaple). If you mobo requires dual channel, you have to get 2x256 to add 512 or add a complementary stick to the one already in your computer.
__________________

g5orbust is offline  
Old 09-28-2003, 05:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 21
Default

does the asus a7n8x deluxe require 2x256 or 1x512?
which should i get?
gammacrush2000 is offline  
Old 09-28-2003, 05:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

hey, i just bought that board what i've read is that dual channel won't make much of a difference in speed.

your a7n8x deluxe board can take 128MB to 1024MB in each of it's 3 memory banks. to use dual channel yo should use banks 2+3 which are colored blue to differentiate. i think you should get a single module of low latency pc3200 or pc2700 512MB memory for gaming.

that way if you decide to get more ram you will have room. i think with pc2700 and pc3200 you can only use 2 banks max but i may be wrong.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 09-29-2003, 09:42 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 753
Send a message via ICQ to Lostman Send a message via AIM to Lostman Send a message via Yahoo to Lostman
Default

Keep in mind with that board that if you want to optimize your FSB you need equal sticks of memory in at least 2 (the blue ones) of the banks. I suggest getting 2 sticks of 256meg insted of 1 512.

Check the manuel that came with your board, it has a few pages on the subject.
__________________


www.lostman.us
Lostman is offline  
Old 09-30-2003, 01:23 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 21
Default

whats gonna happen to the memory performance if i do 2x256? rather than 1x512? (FSB)
gammacrush2000 is offline  
Old 09-30-2003, 02:22 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 818
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gammacrush2000
whats gonna happen to the memory performance if i do 2x256? rather than 1x512? (FSB)
well, if you put that 1x512 stick in your dual channel slot, your computer will eitehr revert back to single channel mode or it wont turn on.
g5orbust is offline  
Old 10-01-2003, 11:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 125
Send a message via AIM to psychobrigade00 Send a message via Yahoo to psychobrigade00
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by MicroBell
So...IMO....If your useing onboard video...I would consider useing dual channel..If not...then it doesn't matter as the speed increase is so small.
for gaming i would recommend 2x256 because you have both sticks of ram operating together faster then 1x512. I recommend (just cause they test it on the asus a7n8x) corsairs twinx line for dual channel mode.
__________________
----------------------------------------------
@>~~~>~~~
Knight of the Roses
~~~<~~~<@
----------------------------------------------
Asus A7N8X Deluxe
Athlon 2600+ Thoroughbred
Corsair TWINX512-2700LL
GeForce 4 ti 4200 128mb
Maxtor 40gb 7200rpm
plextor 48x24x48
psychobrigade00 is offline  
Old 07-13-2005, 11:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3
Default

http://www.3cvillage.com/product/ms-...200/item91.htm


thats is my mother board and i was wondering i mine is able to dual channel cuz im looking to upgrade my RAM
__________________

aspick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.