Dual Channel - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-28-2004, 07:01 PM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Nubius's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600

oh blind arrow where to start...first off I already know the board is capable of dual channel

btw, 35W (i know the mistake) ,but still, you processor will take around 62Watts, how can u run full system on 35W (HAHAHAHA, Kididng, No Offence)

else, XP-M?? whats that buddy? M chips represent thes Mobile Processors.....ar you gonna install this mobo in ur laptop?
Hmmmm after that...how do I reply without offending you, because you've made yourself look very stupid. the 35w isn't a mistake..it's exactly that......35w....yes XP-M denotes a mobile chip...how very clever of you to make that distinction...now guess what buddy!?! THE 35W YUP 35 WATT 2400+ XP-M YUP XP-MOBILE IS SOCKET A! JUST LIKE IN YOUR DESKTOP! WOW! WHAT A COINCIDENCE! GUESS WHAT ALSO!?! THE 35W YUP THIRTY-FIVE WATT 2400+ XP-M WHOA! YOU GUESSED IT AGAIN XP-MOBILE is a very commonly known and reveared chip for it's overclocking abilities. Now child I suggest you read up on your hardware before you go trying to 'not offend' people in your posts with constant laughing and 'NO OFFENCE!' which I wouldn't really care anyway from a person who can't spell OFFENSE right.

Hmmm.....yup believe that about sums it up...so 'No offense there BUDDY' but you are an idiot.

Nubius is offline  
Old 09-28-2004, 07:28 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909

ok, my mistake with socket A.

as if you know that much about processor, then you must have known that as well, that Dual Channel is dependent on Mobo chip, not Processor chip. this is not 64-BIT that AMD's have to rely on platforms chip manufacturers supporting hyper transport.

Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 09-28-2004, 08:13 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536

Originally posted by Blind_Arrow
...then you must have known that as well, that Dual Channel is dependent on Mobo chip, not Processor chip.
You have no idea what you are talking about. The CPU must be capable of dual channel, regardless of the North Bridge.
ag3 is offline  
Old 09-28-2004, 10:31 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821

"i dont know about ABIT, but with updated BIOS on Asus, it'll show at start up that board is running on Dual-Chanel Linear Mode."

Mine tells me that I'm in dual-cahnnel just before hitting the DEL key and entering the BIOS on my mobo.
Regulus is offline  
Old 09-28-2004, 11:28 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 393

well any two same sticks will work in dual channel... but the sticks of ram that come in dc packages have been put thru extensive testing in dc mode in a lot of motherboards (and yes every single product is tested not just a sample from the product line for that day or something)... soo when you buy dc ram ur getting guaranteed that it'll run to the top of its performance ... but setting up 2 sticks in dc mode will work also
\"It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.\"
_SiLv3R_ is offline  
Old 09-28-2004, 11:36 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
mal's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 179

i have a question bout this!
My mobo is supporting dual-channel...I looked inside and there are 8 slots,placed in four pairs..so my guess is that a pair is dual-channel.The guy that built my system knew that was a DC kit,but he placed 1 stick by pair.If id place both stick in a pair would it be more performent?
mal is offline  
Old 09-29-2004, 02:14 AM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Nubius's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600

Yeah no such thing as dual 'dual channel' is there with mobos that have 4 slots with matching colors.

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:10 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.