The Dreaded Memory Selection!!!!!!! - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-27-2005, 11:21 AM   #21 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 529
Send a message via AIM to alecjahn
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
Well you're comparing $69 for 512mb of Corsair against 1gb of Twinmos for $87, can't beat that with a stick
Yes, that is also a huge seller in my book. !!

Quote:
2.9-3v the TwinMOS will easily take and that should allow you to hit 220 with 2.5-3-3-7 timings.
You really need that much voltage to get to 220? Seems like a lot of voltage to me, then again I'm new to memory overclocking (I usually just use a multiplyer to keep my mem at stock)
__________________

__________________
You're the guy from that hamburger train, right?
alecjahn is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 12:12 PM   #22 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 222
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by desiboi
Ha, Mercury comparing to a MB, that's real nice...not
Not really comparing... They both have four doors, 4.x liter engines, leather interiors, but the Mercedes is clearly superior.... My guess would e that you get mroe bang for the buck with the Mercury.
Its personal preference wit the RAM too. Somebody might be willing to pay that extra $$ for the name brand ram, that has a guarantee and has that name brand relibility.
__________________

Snump is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 12:38 PM   #23 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 577
Send a message via ICQ to Kadahaf Send a message via AIM to Kadahaf
Default

alright I have 80$ US and I need 3200 speed 1gb which would be the best hands down NOT OCING
__________________
Because people hate searching.
Best ram guide.
Different cpu types.
Good video card guide
Kadahaf is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 01:58 PM   #24 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 133
Send a message via AIM to Augsy
Default

i got a question what does the PC3200 and PC3700 mean like is it just better ram or is it something to do with compatibility and do all motherboards support "newer" ram?
__________________
My LeEt CoMp
Asus A8N-SLI
AMD Athlon 3500+ venice
Enermax 535 watt PS
2 x 512mb OCZ premier series
XFX 6800 GT (1100/400)
WD Sata II 250 GB HD w/16mb cache
Lite-on 1693S DVD-RW
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
windows xp pro
Augsy is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 03:39 PM   #25 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

PC3700 just means that it defaults to PC3200 speeds, but you can overclock that ram guartneed
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 03:57 PM   #26 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 529
Send a message via AIM to alecjahn
Default

The actual number is the bandwidth the memory can handle.

Here, I'll make you a chart-thing.

DDR266 = 266mhz = PC2100 = 2100mbps
DDR333 = 333mhz = PC2700 = 2700mbps
DDR400 = 400mhz = PC3200 = 3200mbps
(Note, that bandwidth, the last value, is measured in BITS per second, which is different from BYTES. 8 bits = 1 byte.)(LOL and 4 bits = a nibble!)

That's just the 'mainstream' speeds, theres others, such as the PC3700 or PC4000 (etc, etc.) that are rated to work fine at the higher speed, but that higher speed must be set manually.
__________________
You're the guy from that hamburger train, right?
alecjahn is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 05:11 PM   #27 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

The TwinMOS are comprised of Winbond or BH-5 IC's (integrated circuits, the actual black chips on the RAM) unlike TCCD's (which RAM like OCZ Platinum rev2s, G.Skill LAs, Patriot XBLs, PQI Turbos all have) it needs quite a bit of voltage to really shine....2.9-3v aint really THAT much dude, I plan on putting that much through my patriots, but I'll most likely be hitting 275MHz with that

Those TwinMOS would probably hit 250MHz on tighter timings than TCCD could pull assuming you could give it like 3.4v....mind you I'm just taking a guess here, for all I know it could get to 220 on 2.7v but that'd be up to you to check out.

As far as memory goes, and what gets the 'seal of approval' well if you aren't overclocking it doesn't really matter at all....just pick some brand like kingston or corsair and be happy with it, because overclocking is the only time in which quality really matters.

EDIT: Alec, your chart is wrong, 3200mBITS per second would be way too low, resulting in what 400megabyte a second transfer, that's not true, it's 3200megabytes dude, or 3.2gb/sec new AMD64s have about 6gb/sec transfer rate.
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 05:16 PM   #28 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

I get 218 on value ram 3-3-3-7 stock timings, so 220 should be real easy with twinmos with voltage.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 05:33 PM   #29 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

I put 2.9v through my patriots at like 230 when technically the manufacturer specs says I don't need that much until like 260 lol....just gives you stability headroom and chance for tighter timings.
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 10:09 PM   #30 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 529
Send a message via AIM to alecjahn
Default

Oh, my bad. I thought I remembered it was bits, but I guess I remembered wrong. Thanks for correcting me.

Are there any Patriot modules I should look into? Or are they slightly out of my price range... The TwinMOS is out of stock and now I'm anxious.
I dont really need 1gb at the moment, but I would have the comforting thought that I wouldnt need memory for a very long time...

What about this OCZ Plat? Price is good... pretty good timings...
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820146889
Price is good... pretty good timings...
__________________

__________________
You're the guy from that hamburger train, right?
alecjahn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.