Does DELL have a clue? Check this out. - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-13-2005, 08:01 PM   #21 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

That exact logic is why I wonder why so many people care about PS3 havoc, it's just stupid.
__________________

__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 08:04 PM   #22 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by desiboi
Chankama, you watch DBZ? lol. I watch it, and where did you get that picture of Goku powering up?
lol. Can't remember man. Shouldn't bookmarked it. I was actually looking for a pic of Vegeta powering up. Couldn't find it

Quote:
Originally posted by HAVOC2k5
Dual Cores aren't for gaming. Even IF the Unreal 3 Engine, "MIGHT" utilize multicore processing, "MIGHT" that's just one game. And what kind of advantage is that going to give you? It's going to be at least a few years before Multicores are mainstream
And Havoc, by that logic AMD should have never gone after 64 bit processors. Where was the OS and application support? Good thing they did though. Otherwise, we wouldn't be at where we are at. If dual-cores are marketed better, that will push the gaming industry more as well.
__________________

Chankama is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 08:10 PM   #23 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to Arcane Send a message via Yahoo to Arcane
Default

It's Dell. They know they're customers don't know what the hell they're buying, so they can throw all kinds of crazy things in.
Arcane is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 08:14 PM   #24 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

Hell im suprised they dont say Intel SUPER HYPERTHREADING HYPERTRANSPORT TECHNOLOY
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 08:57 PM   #25 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

because they'd get sued for saying hypertransport since it's AMD's lol
Nubius is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 09:00 PM   #26 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

so they say Hyper Transportation :P
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 09:08 PM   #27 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

That has the words hyper transpot in it. So it would still be a violation. Ususally copyrights have a clause for "Anything containing" or something like that. I think
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 09:09 PM   #28 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

THIS IS WERE "DELL" SHOULD USE THE NEW DUAL CORES.

DELL MEDIA CENTER PC (advertised on their site)
PRICE TAG: $1737.00 (That's just too funny)

Pentium® 4 Processor 630 with HT Technology (3GHz, 800 FSB)
Microsoft® Windows® XP Media Center 2005 Edition
128MB PCI Express™ x16 (DVI/VGA/TV-out) ATI Radeon™ X300SE
512MB Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM at 400MHz (2x256M)
FREE UPGRADE! 160GB3 Serial ATA Hard Drive(7200RPM)w/ Native Command Queuing
FREE UPGRADE! New 17 in E173FP Analog Flat Panel
Single Drive: 16X DVD-ROM Drive
In a stupid Dell MicroATX Midtower (BLAHHHHH)

This is what they should use. A case similar to this


The whole idea behind a media center pc is the ablility to have it seemlessly work wih your home entertainment center. No one wants a freakin' Dell tower sitting next to their PLASMA TV.

They should throw in the new dual core and use this type case and Market the crap outta them... They can take over that market easily.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 09:12 PM   #29 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

It's all about marketing to those who know no better, why you would have a top end single core gaming machine when you could have a DUAL CORE PENTIUM 4 EXTREME EDITION!!! I mean, two must be better than one, eh?

edit - I actually believe Intel is planning on using AMDs hypertransport bus in future processors.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 09:14 PM   #30 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
edit - I actually believe Intel is planning on using AMDs hypertransport bus in future processors
Yeah I had read something about that as well, god knows where that was though, Xibitlabs I think it was? or whatever that places name is
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.