Different CPUs - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-24-2004, 08:38 PM   #11 (permalink)
WOOOOOOOO
 
bobojuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Miami
Posts: 818
Send a message via AIM to bobojuice Send a message via Yahoo to bobojuice
Default

I have 2mb of it and i love it. Buahahahah.
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent
It would be bad if you had a divorse over something stupid like batteries.
LETS DANCE!!!
bobojuice is offline  
Old 08-25-2004, 12:43 AM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

well, if you put 2mb on a celeron or athlon xp . . . too much cache . . .

even put 2MB on fx-53. . . too much

why do you think a G5 only has 512K on each cpu?
__________________

__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 08-25-2004, 08:25 PM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by koldapu
well, if you put 2mb on a celeron or athlon xp . . . too much cache . . .

even put 2MB on fx-53. . . too much

why do you think a G5 only has 512K on each cpu?
Well, I don't know jack squat about G5's

But the reason why Celeron and Athlon XP's is because they are budget CPU's Cache is the most expensive part on the die, thats why the P4EE is so unbelievably expensive

As for why they don't put 2mb on FX's, I don't know ask AMD

But why do you think Intel is gonna jack teh Prescott up to 2mb L2 cache? Because it is slow, so they need to improve performance the fastest way possible, while still focusing on the future They saw it work for the P-M with Dothan aswell

Why do you think they put 8mb caches in server chips
__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 08-25-2004, 09:16 PM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 439
Default

Intel Processors

Willamette Core, the first Pentium 4. Running at speed 1.4g and above, exceeding Pentium 3 speeds. Known to lose to it's competition in almost every benchmark.

A = Northwood Core, features a .13micron process, 400fsb and 512k cache. Big improvement over the old Willamette Core.

B = Northwood Core with faster bus speeds up to 533mhz.

C = Northwood Core running up to 800mhz fsb. 3.06 and above featured the technology "HyperThreading", which decrease lag from multiple heavy processes.

E = Prescott Core, featuring a .09micron process, HyperThreading and double the cache (the current ideal intel performance cpu of this generation; able to go up to 4.2ghz and higher; although suffers compared to the Northwood in last generation gaming, it is already winning battles against the Northwood in Doom 3 because of it's increase in cache and expect to beat the Northwood in future games like Half Life 2 and even Unreal 3; expect heating problems but let's hope intel fixes this in the future).

EE = Gallatin Core, modified Northwood with 2.5mb of total cache! (known as "Extreme Edition" to many people; because of it's high amount of cache, it does well in power-hungry games and is also mistaken for a prescott, however). Future EE will be based of the Prescott. Recommended for intel fan/gamers.
WQ87 is offline  
Old 08-25-2004, 09:21 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 439
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by koldapu
but be careful, cause if a cache is too big, then it hinders the performance
I don't know about that, it gave the Prescott a 15% increase in performance over the Northwood in Doom 3 Benchmarking. Athlon 64 and the Extreme Edition also did well.
WQ87 is offline  
Old 08-26-2004, 05:07 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by WQ87
Intel Processors

Willamette Core, the first Pentium 4. Running at speed 1.4g and above, exceeding Pentium 3 speeds. Known to lose to it's competition in almost every benchmark.

A = Northwood Core, features a .13micron process, 400fsb and 512k cache. Big improvement over the old Willamette Core.

B = Northwood Core with faster bus speeds up to 533mhz.

C = Northwood Core running up to 800mhz fsb. 3.06 and above featured the technology "HyperThreading", which decrease lag from multiple heavy processes.

E = Prescott Core, featuring a .09micron process, HyperThreading and double the cache (the current ideal intel performance cpu of this generation; able to go up to 4.2ghz and higher; although suffers compared to the Northwood in last generation gaming, it is already winning battles against the Northwood in Doom 3 because of it's increase in cache and expect to beat the Northwood in future games like Half Life 2 and even Unreal 3; expect heating problems but let's hope intel fixes this in the future).

EE = Gallatin Core, modified Northwood with 2.5mb of total cache! (known as "Extreme Edition" to many people; because of it's high amount of cache, it does well in power-hungry games and is also mistaken for a prescott, however). Future EE will be based of the Prescott. Recommended for intel fan/gamers.
Masterful reply
__________________

__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.