Dells or Compaqs? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-14-2002, 05:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
TIG
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 6
Default Dells or Compaqs?

Both of them seem to be working very well in the business. I got myself a black Presario from compaq, but I did want the Dell, but this Compaq is not that bad for me. But I do prefer Dells.
__________________

TIG is offline  
Old 08-14-2002, 06:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
the flaming hermit
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 950
Send a message via ICQ to þÄ®âÐÖx Send a message via Yahoo to þÄ®âÐÖx
Default

Neither! Build it yourself
__________________

þÄ®âÐÖx is offline  
Old 08-14-2002, 07:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
TIG
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 6
Default

Good reply. That's what I'm going to do next.
TIG is offline  
Old 08-14-2002, 09:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422
Default

IMO, most retail machines are pieces of crap when it comes to working with large-scale applications or high-end. Those can be used for basic computing, strictly for that purpose. You'll definitely learn a lot from building a generic machine.
__________________
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Old 08-21-2002, 01:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 7
Default

For top end performace for geeks like us, building a machine is usually the best option...

however...

if you are buying a machine for a non-geek family member or friend, unless you want to be the 24x7 tech support person, go with a Dell
jhaley is offline  
Old 08-21-2002, 11:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 91
Send a message via AIM to SePhErUm Send a message via Yahoo to SePhErUm
Default

Either get a Dell if you dont' have time to build your own machine. I have a compaq it has some PS/2 Input Output errors.
These problems only exist when running on a NT platform.
Besides that.. i can't figure out where to over clock it
__________________
----------------------------------------
Brandon Cook
http://www.anarchy-industries.com
Pentium II 333MHz
96 MB Ram
Geforce 4 MX 440
2 SCSI 4GB Hdds\'
anything else?
SePhErUm is offline  
Old 08-22-2002, 01:21 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422
Default

Compaqs along with other retail manufacturers ship with motherboards with no tweaking ability. (CPU-wise that is).
__________________
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Old 08-26-2002, 11:11 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: "Almost Heaven" USA
Posts: 4,866
Send a message via AIM to Dave Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
Default

For us technologically impaired people, building a pc seems a most difficult task. So for us, namebrand pc's have been bought and used fairly well.

I've had good and bad experiences with all kinds. I've owned AOC (Compaq clone), Compaq, Dell, and Gateway. My old employer would not allow any "handmade" machines and went with namebrand. Of those mentioned, I had the best service out of the Gateway. Dell was next. I did have lots of conversations with the Compaq service people.

I wonder how many techies got headaches, or heartburn with this post?

It also depends on where you purchase pc's on whether they come with "Tweaking" potential.

Would it be a good forum or thread to discuss step by step method to put together a top-end pc? Is that too broad?

Thanks for answers.
Dave is offline  
Old 09-01-2002, 09:09 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 1
Default

If money's no object, go with Alienware. Otherwise go with Dell. Compaq's are crap these days.
greyman is offline  
Old 10-27-2002, 09:12 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 3
Cool

compaq is the best [SIZE=3]I have had a compaq(presario laptop) I'vw never been more happy with it over any other that i've worked with.
__________________

echo2 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.