dell psu.... ahhhhhh! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-28-2005, 04:04 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default dell psu.... ahhhhhh!

will this dell psu work on a dimension 5000, even through it is not on the compatability list?

also, what is the most powerful graphics card i am likely to be able to run on this psu, with my current spec?

http://www.pcpowercooling.com/produc...view=techspecs
__________________

joshd is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 02:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Yes it will work. Even though that case is BTX, i'm sure it will still fit and work. Just to be sure, visit www.pcpowerandcooling.com and email them and ask. They are really good about replying promptly.
__________________

HAVOC is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 03:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

yea, ive e-mailed. just wanted a 2nd opinion from here..

cheers
joshd is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 03:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 474
Default

dell's power supplies are the worst...
nuke is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 03:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

yea i know.

so the psu from this site are not actuallly made by dell, they are just compatible? i suppose this make them better?
joshd is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 03:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 474
Default

oh that's what i thought.
nuke is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 03:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by joshd
yea, ive e-mailed. just wanted a 2nd opinion from here..

cheers
Better Yet... If you wanna call them:

PCP&C Tech Support - 1-760-931-5700

It's not TOLL FREE which kinda sucks. But, you'll get right through and won't wait long to talk to someone.

Hey, on that 5000 case which is BTX, does the back/opening for PSU have a large space cut open for the PSU, or is it just cut enough for the Plug & voltage selector? Also how many pins is the MOBO? 20/24?
HAVOC is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 03:16 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

well, the opening is big enough so the psu's grill is exposed for air flow, so yea, i suppose it is a big hole. not sure about the pins, but i dont think it is compatible with a regular psu. only dell ones. give me a minute, ill try and find out about the pins.
joshd is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 03:20 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

cant find it. dell owners manual detailed specifications are not very detailed. lol
joshd is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 03:33 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by joshd
yea i know.

so the psu from this site are not actuallly made by dell, they are just compatible? i suppose this make them better?
PCP&C has specifically designed these power supplies to meet (1) Dell specific requirement. 90% of dell cases, were the PSU is installed, only has an area cut out for the PLUG and the Voltage Selector. The Dell's PSU's generally don't use the power switch because the cases and motherboard use a soft power switch. Why? I don't know.

So PCP&C designed a few PSU's, which are all identical to any of their other PSU's, but the difference is they don't have power switches. Thus, fitting in the dell dimension cases.

People also say that you can't use any PSU in a dell case, which isn't correct. It's not a matter of the PSU won't work for compatibility issues, it's more of a issue of the case design. You also must make sure that the PSU supports 20pin/24pin.

I've tested a Dell Dimension 2350 Mid Tower MicroATX PC with an Antec power supply. And everything worked fine. The only problem was that it wouldn't fit in the case because of the design issues.
__________________

HAVOC is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.