date and time - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-05-2005, 12:46 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 104
Default date and time

I have a dell 466 and entering the time anddate keepscoming across the screen andi already did enter the time and date
What could be theproblem. it wont let me boot with the startup disk but on the othe r dell it does I finaly figured out how to get the cd rom to work I changed the pin to slave andthen i did not get no hard disk controler failure error message now when i do keep enteringthe time and date unnecessarily it leads me to a c prompt after that. Is that right If it does need a battery.Is there any special battery i have to put in there Can i get one off another machine if it fits
__________________

JAYDALOSS is offline  
Old 06-05-2005, 12:48 AM   #2 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default

well try resetting the cmos

and remeber
next time dont buy a DELL!!!
__________________

__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 06-05-2005, 01:16 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 104
Default

Where would the configuring pin be on the dell. How would i reset the the cmos on this particular machine i did not see no crome battery. Wher would the battery be if i had to take it out
JAYDALOSS is offline  
Old 06-05-2005, 01:30 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 104
Default

There isno option for loading defaults in bios.I see alist of pinsin thisparticular manner onthe board crd bios(no jumper pin on it)
epwd(that has a jumper pin on it)evga(that has a jumper pin on it
where would the battery be. maybe i can take it out for a while
JAYDALOSS is offline  
Old 06-05-2005, 02:33 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 104
Default

well if somebody knows the answer please let meknow
JAYDALOSS is offline  
Old 06-05-2005, 02:53 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

well obviously if you cant see the battery on the front there cant be that many other places to look. and the reason you had problems with the cd drive is either you had it on cable select or master and it had problems (conflicting with hdd) so it locked out the cd drive because it is less important
Nitestick is offline  
Old 06-05-2005, 03:26 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 104
Default

YES BUT DONT ALL COMPUTERS HAVE BATTERIES WHERE ISTHE BATTERY ON THIS ONE
JAYDALOSS is offline  
Old 06-05-2005, 04:10 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 104
Default

WELL WHAT CAN I DO TO GET RID OF THAT MESSAGE THAT I HAVE TO SET THE TIME WHEN I DID SET THE TIME
__________________

JAYDALOSS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.