D-link router... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-06-2005, 10:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 577
Send a message via ICQ to Kadahaf Send a message via AIM to Kadahaf
Default D-link router...

My router has been fine till tonight....I left to go see a movie and my brother unplugged the router for some reason when I come back home I replug it in and I get a perfect signal but not internet. I reset the modem/router and it works fine but it seems to cutting off or not working at all....
__________________

__________________
Because people hate searching.
Best ram guide.
Different cpu types.
Good video card guide
Kadahaf is offline  
Old 05-06-2005, 10:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

Which model?

Cut the power to the modem and the router, wait like a minute, then plug in the modem until that's fully boot up, then plug in the router.

Works with my DLink Xtreme G router
__________________

__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 05-06-2005, 10:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 577
Send a message via ICQ to Kadahaf Send a message via AIM to Kadahaf
Default

Well mine has not been a problem for like 4 months its a 80x.11b x=a number I cant remember

I dont want to lost the internet (im directly connected to the modem) so if I unplug and all I dont wanna lose the connection ><
__________________
Because people hate searching.
Best ram guide.
Different cpu types.
Good video card guide
Kadahaf is offline  
Old 05-06-2005, 10:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

How are you AND the router connected to the modem? My modem only allows one ethernet device to be connected ...
__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 05-06-2005, 10:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 577
Send a message via ICQ to Kadahaf Send a message via AIM to Kadahaf
Default

cable goes to modem then router then downstairs server then goes to wireless cards

I'm currently on the downstairs server directly connected to the modem
__________________
Because people hate searching.
Best ram guide.
Different cpu types.
Good video card guide
Kadahaf is offline  
Old 05-06-2005, 11:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 577
Send a message via ICQ to Kadahaf Send a message via AIM to Kadahaf
Default

well the internet on the server is fine and my modem is plugged to my router but on my remote computers I only get 8kb speed and I cant acess the internet from them ><

also I cant access 192.168.0.1 says server not found ><
__________________
Because people hate searching.
Best ram guide.
Different cpu types.
Good video card guide
Kadahaf is offline  
Old 05-07-2005, 01:04 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

do a hard reset on the router (stick a paperclip into the "reset" button while it's on, then hold it there for about 15 seconds, then release it, it should be resetted)

then unplug everything frmo the router and put them back on again

this will lose the internet connection for few seconds though
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-07-2005, 01:32 AM   #8 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Kadahaf
also I cant access 192.168.0.1 says server not found ><
Sounds like your brother as fu┬ęked your router over.

Check to see if you hard can get any were with a hard reset.
Failing that, it's sound like it's RMA time.

Can you still see the other computers on the network?
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 05-08-2005, 08:37 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 7
Default

Before you go the hard reset route, here is another option.

On the computer you have attempted to access the router from, check out your current wireless configuration. Right click on the wireless icon in the notification tray, and choose "Status". Click the "Support" tab, and check if your computer is getting an IP from the DHCP server (if you have dynamic ip). If it looks like you aren't, click the "Repair" button, and let it go through the repair process, about 30 seconds. If it comes up with a new IP for your computer, re attempt to access the router. Go through all of your settings, and see if anything is different, particularly the DHCP settings. If you haven't done it yet, be sure to set a non standard password for your router, and run some sort of encryption. Turn off SSID broadcast, and secure your network!
__________________

lawcox is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.