CPU Instalation - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-23-2005, 12:43 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 79
Default CPU Instalation

I have a question about installing a CPU. I got a AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Retail. When i installed it, i didn't have any thermal paste with the box so I assumed it came with some on there. i went ahead and installed it. Am i right in assuming it already had some thermal paste on there. I havn't gotten past my BIOS Setup screen. But, at an idle my CPU is running at 41 degrees Celcius. I would appreciate any help here, as I don't want to overhead my CPU for obvious reasons.
__________________

__________________
Asus K8V Deluxe
AMD Athlon 64-bit 3200+ Socket 939
eVGA 6600GT 128mb
Kingmax 512x2 PC3200
Dual Layer 16x DVD RW
Raidmax Black Aluminum Gaming Case
/w stock 420 watt PS and 5 case fans
Seagate 80GB 7200rpm SATA
Windows XP Home
Generic CRT 17\'
toogreen is offline  
Old 01-23-2005, 01:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 79
Default

:amazed: worried...bump
__________________

__________________
Asus K8V Deluxe
AMD Athlon 64-bit 3200+ Socket 939
eVGA 6600GT 128mb
Kingmax 512x2 PC3200
Dual Layer 16x DVD RW
Raidmax Black Aluminum Gaming Case
/w stock 420 watt PS and 5 case fans
Seagate 80GB 7200rpm SATA
Windows XP Home
Generic CRT 17\'
toogreen is offline  
Old 01-23-2005, 01:40 AM   #3 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 215
Send a message via AIM to ReverseFluxx Send a message via MSN to ReverseFluxx
Default

No, I don't know of any processors that come with paste already applied. You would notice it on there, it is goey white stuff. Most processors don't need to have any paste on them for them to work at safe temperatures. As long as you have a heatsink and fan designed for your processor, you should be fine as long as you don't do any overclocking. If you're really worried, you can order thermal paste from almost any computer hardware provider.
__________________
http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/sf/type/2/qlutch.png
Core 2 Duo E6850, Foxconn P35A-S, 8GB DDR2-800, 160+160=320GB SATAII RAID 0, BFG 9800GTX, Windows 7 Pro, HP 24" LCD, AG Neovo 19" LCD
ReverseFluxx is offline  
Old 01-23-2005, 01:47 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 79
Default

Whew, I was under the impression that it was REQUIRED for save usage. What is the ideal, temperature for this kind of setup usually run anyway? Just wondering if ya might have an idea. Thanks for the assuance there though.

Till we meet agian -
__________________
Asus K8V Deluxe
AMD Athlon 64-bit 3200+ Socket 939
eVGA 6600GT 128mb
Kingmax 512x2 PC3200
Dual Layer 16x DVD RW
Raidmax Black Aluminum Gaming Case
/w stock 420 watt PS and 5 case fans
Seagate 80GB 7200rpm SATA
Windows XP Home
Generic CRT 17\'
toogreen is offline  
Old 01-23-2005, 01:53 AM   #5 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 215
Send a message via AIM to ReverseFluxx Send a message via MSN to ReverseFluxx
Default

70 degrees C is the optimal operating temperature for Athlon 64's.
__________________
http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/sf/type/2/qlutch.png
Core 2 Duo E6850, Foxconn P35A-S, 8GB DDR2-800, 160+160=320GB SATAII RAID 0, BFG 9800GTX, Windows 7 Pro, HP 24" LCD, AG Neovo 19" LCD
ReverseFluxx is offline  
Old 01-23-2005, 02:15 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 79
Default

I may be inexperianced, but that doesn't seem right. If it is then my CPU is running way to hot. Did you mean Farenhite or Celcius.

Edit: LMAO umm I put Farenhite in my original post, i meant Celcius
__________________
Asus K8V Deluxe
AMD Athlon 64-bit 3200+ Socket 939
eVGA 6600GT 128mb
Kingmax 512x2 PC3200
Dual Layer 16x DVD RW
Raidmax Black Aluminum Gaming Case
/w stock 420 watt PS and 5 case fans
Seagate 80GB 7200rpm SATA
Windows XP Home
Generic CRT 17\'
toogreen is offline  
Old 01-23-2005, 02:37 AM   #7 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 215
Send a message via AIM to ReverseFluxx Send a message via MSN to ReverseFluxx
Default

You said your processor was running 41 degrees C. This is nowhere too hot. 70 degrees under a heavy load is fine. Some run at over 100 C when they overclock.
__________________
http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/sf/type/2/qlutch.png
Core 2 Duo E6850, Foxconn P35A-S, 8GB DDR2-800, 160+160=320GB SATAII RAID 0, BFG 9800GTX, Windows 7 Pro, HP 24" LCD, AG Neovo 19" LCD
ReverseFluxx is offline  
Old 01-23-2005, 04:11 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

no, the Athlon 64's usually run at a little above 40*C

it is the Pentium 4 Prescotts that run at 70

when putting on your heatsink, you should have noticed the white thermal paste on the CPU if they had already applied some - which they don't, they either leave it to you to put it on, or just don't give you any

in any case, you will be fine without thermal paste, it is not necesarry unless you're planning on overclocking
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-23-2005, 04:51 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Ok....to clear some things up for you man..

Stock heatsinks come with whats called a thermal pad. If you would have looked under your heatsink you would have noticed a almost rubbery textured little (generally blue) square.


Quote:
Most processors don't need to have any paste on them for them to work at safe temperatures.
That for the most part is incorrect, especially when dealing with the AMD64's....go to a site where they say it's not needed...which I believe you'd have a hard time finding.


Like I said, stock heatsinks come with a thermal pad on it. You DO need to have thermal paste on a heatsink, but not a retail one.

You DO NOT put thermal paste on a stock heatsink that already has a thermal pad. However, if you get an aftermarket heatsink you do infact need to put thermal paste on it.

Quote:
70 degrees C is the optimal operating temperature for Athlon 64's.
Wrong

Quote:
You said your processor was running 41 degrees C. This is nowhere too hot. 70 degrees under a heavy load is fine. Some run at over 100 C when they overclock.
Even more incorrect

The only part of that sentence that is correct is the 'This is nowhere too hot'

41C is a fine temperature, infact it's really pretty dern good for the AMD64, but it of course also depends on your temp in the house.

a CPU at 100C = a dead CPU, there are no CPU's at 100C when overclocked, so wherever you got that idea Reverse, you need to forget it as you'll lead people like him who don't know, to trouble.

Overclockers especially keep their CPU's cooler than everybody, no one in their right mind would let a stock CPU get up to 100C, infact it's impossible. The AMD64's have a thermal shut off temp of 70C which is infact too hot.

I would say the maximum you want that 64 to hit is 60C and even then I'd suggest you look into better cooling to sustain the life of the CPU.

To recap: Retail heatsinks come with a thermal pad. You do not put thermal paste on a stock heatsink that already has a thermal pad.

You do put thermal paste on an after market heatsink, and failure to do so will get you much higher temps so I would suggest never installing a heatsink without paste.

60C is a decently safe temperature, but like I said even then if it's 60C at full load I'd still suggest looking into getting your system a bit cooler although yes I will say that the CPU should have no problem surviving those temps.

70C is way too hot though, which is why they have the shutoff feature at that temp.

Hope that helps
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-23-2005, 07:55 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 833
Default

my AMD Athlon 64 3200+ s939 (winchester) Idles at 30c and gets up to about 36-38c under full load.

And yes the fans in retail packs come with a thermal pad on the bottom of them. so you should be fine!
__________________

__________________
hygor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.