Computer wont stop being a d*ck - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-25-2005, 03:15 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2
Send a message via ICQ to cretin
Question Computer wont stop being a d*ck

hey hey all,

Ive got a problem (more like 5 problems) with my computer. I have read a whole lot of other threads about how to fix them and have decided that I suck with computers.

The main problem was that my computer would crash during computer games...Half Life, BF1942, HL2. It would crash in several different ways. Sometimes it would just restart, other times it would go to that blue screen and sometimes it would freeze.

When it showed up the blue screen it would say (on the one occasion I noted it down)

......
IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL
.....
Technical Information:
***STOP: 0x0000000A (0x00000000, 0x00000002, 0x00000000, 0x8050A947)
Beginning dump of pysical memory
Physical memory dump complete
....

The specs I have are:
P4 2.4 533MHz
Gigabyte - GA-8SIMLH-P(-C) motherboard
80GB and 120GB HD
Gecube Radeon 9600 XT 256MB DDR 8XAGP TV-out DVI
512MB Vdata PC3200 DDR400 (new)
on the back of my computer it says 230V where the P.S. is

-The Graphics Card was installed after the problem started...and didnt help.
-The computer was running fine all last year playing Half Life and Counter Strike but after a bit of traveling decided to pack up this year.
-I took a stab in the dark and replaced the RAM, but that did nothing.

Anyway I stopped caring about this and just decided not to play games for a bit ( that was 3 months ago). But today the thing went to blue screen while using media player, DC++ and internet explorer. So I have decided that I have to fix what ever is doing this as I dont want it to occur right in the middle of a last minute uni assignment.

The blue screen message was:
.....
IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL
.....
Technical information:
***STOP: 0x0000000A (0x0024005C, 0x00000002, 0x00000001, (0x804DBC8E)
Beginning dump of physical memory

I am soo very lost and frustrated, any help would be fantastic.

thanks
-nick
__________________

cretin is offline  
Old 04-25-2005, 03:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

what hardware or drivers did you install before this started?

that error message means that the driver is instructing the BIOS to access an address in the device (could be in video RAM or a buffer) that is higher than what actually exists

to fix it, you would have to use different drivers for the hardware, or simply not use that particular device
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-25-2005, 04:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

So thats what that one error means....
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 04-25-2005, 05:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 235
Send a message via AIM to Rouen
Default

Hmm. This is just my opinon, but if it crashes with that many games, your best bet is just downloading the latest video drivers. Go to ATI.com and download Catalyst 5.3 (Or 5.4, can't remember the newest version) and that should fix your problem, or thats what I would like to believe.
__________________
"Just because I'm sitting between you idiots doesn't mean I want to go skiing!"
_____________________
Network+ Certified
Rouen is offline  
Old 04-25-2005, 05:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
str8lazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 446
Send a message via ICQ to str8lazy Send a message via AIM to str8lazy Send a message via Yahoo to str8lazy
Default

I think that apokalipse is right, you are probably having some driver issues, I would check and see if you have the most up to date bios for your motherboard and go from there. And by that I mean checking to see if you have the most up-to-date drivers, or the ones recommended to work best with your hardware.
str8lazy is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 03:04 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2
Send a message via ICQ to cretin
Default

Firstly, thankyou all for your input.

I got this problem fixed about 4 months ago but figured I'd list the solution incase anyone was having the same problem. I had reinstalled windows and done all the updates for everything and still no luck. So I decided to take it into some professional and was told that I had a faulty power supply. Got a new one installed and now the crashing has stopped. YAY
__________________

cretin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.