Computer not correct specs - Page 5 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-19-2005, 02:41 PM   #41 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

Is the slot that is different from the others like 2-3" big? I believe my first assumption was correct, this is the CNR/Modem Riser port.


Edit: It says you have one, but your card wont fit in? What model is your motherboard?
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 02:45 PM   #42 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

If you're having this much difficulty installing a video card you should probably just pay a computer store to install it for you for $20. I can't believe someone suggested you build an entire computer when you can't figure out where the agp slot is. you are either extremely cautious or want someone to handhold you through this procedure.

If you bought a new video card there should be a user guide with pictures and diagrams showing you exactly how to remove your old video and install the new card. if you are using winXP turn off your PC, remove your card, install the new one, turn your pc on, winXP will detect new hardware and a wizard will guide you through installing new drivers. put your driver CD in the cd-rom and tell the new hardware wizard to search on your cd-rom. you can also cancel the wizard and put your cd in and there should be a program that will autorun to install your drivers.
__________________

ekÆsine is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 03:03 PM   #43 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 422
Default

WOW, turns out this card fits perfectly in the PCI Slot. So maybe this was a PCI Card after all??
__________________
Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Manchester @ 2.2GHz ... Biostar TForce4SLI 939 ... 2GB (1GB X 2) XMS Corsair DDR400 ... PNY 9600GSO 768MB ... 2X 7200.2 Seagate Barracuda 160GB ... Cooler Master Centurion 5 ATX ... Antec TruePower Trio 550W ... Windows Vista 32-bit Premium ... Acer H213H 21.5" 1920X1080
JeffK91 is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 03:06 PM   #44 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

hahaha
__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 03:08 PM   #45 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 422
Default

Ack one problem, it wont completely fit in the empty expansion slot
__________________
Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Manchester @ 2.2GHz ... Biostar TForce4SLI 939 ... 2GB (1GB X 2) XMS Corsair DDR400 ... PNY 9600GSO 768MB ... 2X 7200.2 Seagate Barracuda 160GB ... Cooler Master Centurion 5 ATX ... Antec TruePower Trio 550W ... Windows Vista 32-bit Premium ... Acer H213H 21.5" 1920X1080
JeffK91 is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 03:10 PM   #46 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Capricorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 372
Default

I was about to say I doubt they made a PCI version of the FX 5500, but I guess I won't say that.
__________________
Case: Enermax CS-A106USB
P/S: OCZ OCZ700GXSSLI 700W
Motherboard: ASUS P5N32-E SLI
CPU: Intel E6300(idle 35C/load 39C)
RAM: OCZ Platinum Rev 2 DDR2 800 MHz (4 x 1GB) 4-4-4-15-T1 (2.1v)
Hard Disk: Seagate 2x250GB SATA ST3250620AS in RAID1
Monitor: Mitsubishi DP900u
Graphics: BFG GeForce 8800GT PCI-E
Sound: SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty
Speakers: Klipsch ProMedia v.2-400 4.1 speakers
Optical: LiteOn 16X DVD-ROM; Sony DRU-710A DVD-RW
Capricorn is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 03:11 PM   #47 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 422
Default

Oh my god, you guys were thinking it was the FX 5500 the whole time? It's actually a GeForce 5500 Overclocked. I think they are totally different.
__________________
Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Manchester @ 2.2GHz ... Biostar TForce4SLI 939 ... 2GB (1GB X 2) XMS Corsair DDR400 ... PNY 9600GSO 768MB ... 2X 7200.2 Seagate Barracuda 160GB ... Cooler Master Centurion 5 ATX ... Antec TruePower Trio 550W ... Windows Vista 32-bit Premium ... Acer H213H 21.5" 1920X1080
JeffK91 is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 03:12 PM   #48 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

if it lines up, it'll fit.. just use a bigger hammer.
__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 03:13 PM   #49 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Capricorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 372
Default

I guess the 5500 is the OEM version Nvidia makes for system builders like Compaq, HP, etc., so I guess they'd make it in whatever version they get paid to make it in. It's easy & sure money.
__________________
Case: Enermax CS-A106USB
P/S: OCZ OCZ700GXSSLI 700W
Motherboard: ASUS P5N32-E SLI
CPU: Intel E6300(idle 35C/load 39C)
RAM: OCZ Platinum Rev 2 DDR2 800 MHz (4 x 1GB) 4-4-4-15-T1 (2.1v)
Hard Disk: Seagate 2x250GB SATA ST3250620AS in RAID1
Monitor: Mitsubishi DP900u
Graphics: BFG GeForce 8800GT PCI-E
Sound: SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty
Speakers: Klipsch ProMedia v.2-400 4.1 speakers
Optical: LiteOn 16X DVD-ROM; Sony DRU-710A DVD-RW
Capricorn is offline  
Old 03-19-2005, 03:14 PM   #50 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 422
Default

Hammer? im not using a hammer
__________________

__________________
Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Manchester @ 2.2GHz ... Biostar TForce4SLI 939 ... 2GB (1GB X 2) XMS Corsair DDR400 ... PNY 9600GSO 768MB ... 2X 7200.2 Seagate Barracuda 160GB ... Cooler Master Centurion 5 ATX ... Antec TruePower Trio 550W ... Windows Vista 32-bit Premium ... Acer H213H 21.5" 1920X1080
JeffK91 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.